Jibble

Author Topic: Accessing the internet from within AGS  (Read 7091 times)

RickJ

  • Posts: 2,871
  • fix'n one thing and break'n two ...
    • I can help with scripting
    • I can help with story design
    • RickJ worked on a game that was nominated for an AGS Award!
Re: Accessing the internet from within AGS
« Reply #20 on: 24 Oct 2008, 20:14 »
Scotch,

Can your plug-in be used to run something from a command line like a batch file or
console program such as 7zip command line version?

For example can your plugin execute this  and if so how?

"7z -t7z c:\\Ags\\3.20\\Archive\\MyGame-V0000-003.7z  c:\\Ags\\3.20\\MyGame\\";

Moox

  • Posts: 1,148
  • Losttraveler
Re: Accessing the internet from within AGS
« Reply #21 on: 26 Apr 2010, 17:12 »
My sincerest apologies for the bump, however, I was wondering if it is possible to populate fields from within the shell function?

For instance, if I wanted a GUI to craft invoices to be emailed to my clients I can currently get the mail application open with the mailto: function, however, I would have to manually fill in all the fields making it nothing more than a worthless launcher application. After realizing that there is no print functionality this was my fall back plan before loading up c++ and relearning that.

Moox

  • Posts: 1,148
  • Losttraveler
Re: Accessing the internet from within AGS
« Reply #22 on: 26 Apr 2010, 17:16 »
Edit: Figured it out

Mailto allows for population through a body= code and a subject= code

-------

  • Posts: 8
Re: Accessing the internet from within AGS
« Reply #23 on: 07 May 2010, 03:50 »
180MB is a bit too heavy for the casual market, and the agreement was to nix the voice pack (which takes up 140MB) but make it a seperate download.  
-Dave


I bought Empire Total War and got that of the internet.
The download was 11,5 GB and took three days to complete with internet install.
I then had a std. 2 Mb ADSL connection.

Now I work from home and run fiberlan 100Mbps.

A 180 Mb dl would take me approx. 2-3 minutes.
I doubt personally you have a reason to worry.

But then again, if you can direct me to a good reference on writing plugins I can probably create something like that given a little time to learn this editor thing.

On a personal note using mailto: hrefs is never a good way to do anything email related.
To many prefer using hotmail or gmail accounts without a proper defined email application and then the link invocation fails by default as no defined settings exist and you end up loosing clients.
« Last Edit: 07 May 2010, 03:53 by 10e12 »

Dave Gilbert

  • Mittens Vassal
  • Posts: 2,641
  • Hi. Our names are FRIGGING ADORABLE.
    • Lifetime Achievement Award Winner
    • Dave Gilbert worked on a game that was nominated for an AGS Award!
      Dave Gilbert worked on a game that won an AGS Award!
Re: Accessing the internet from within AGS
« Reply #24 on: 07 May 2010, 12:10 »
You'd be surprised 10e12!  A big chunk of users are still on dial-up, and the portals that wanted to sell the game are very concerned about bandwidth usage.  An average game of theirs is around 40-50 MB max.  An 180 MB game was way too high. 

And wow, this thread is old.

Calin Leafshade

  • Posts: 3,514
  • Long live King Cat!
    • I can help with making music
    • I can help with voice acting
    • Calin Leafshade worked on a game that was nominated for an AGS Award!
      Calin Leafshade worked on a game that won an AGS Award!
Re: Accessing the internet from within AGS
« Reply #25 on: 07 May 2010, 12:16 »
Yea, you have to remember Dave's primary audience are the casuals.. not gamers.

Dave Gilbert

  • Mittens Vassal
  • Posts: 2,641
  • Hi. Our names are FRIGGING ADORABLE.
    • Lifetime Achievement Award Winner
    • Dave Gilbert worked on a game that was nominated for an AGS Award!
      Dave Gilbert worked on a game that won an AGS Award!
Re: Accessing the internet from within AGS
« Reply #26 on: 07 May 2010, 12:24 »
It's funny that this thread resurfaces now, because the other day I unearthed it myself to make the Puzzle Bots demo.  It now has a sweet "BUY NOW!" button that takes you to the purchase page.

Calin Leafshade

  • Posts: 3,514
  • Long live King Cat!
    • I can help with making music
    • I can help with voice acting
    • Calin Leafshade worked on a game that was nominated for an AGS Award!
      Calin Leafshade worked on a game that won an AGS Award!
Re: Accessing the internet from within AGS
« Reply #27 on: 07 May 2010, 12:25 »
You capitalist, you.

magintz

  • Mittens Knight
  • Posts: 1,240
  • Just because I rock doesn't mean I'm made of stone
    • I can help with story design
    • I can help with web design
    • magintz worked on a game that was nominated for an AGS Award!
Re: Accessing the internet from within AGS
« Reply #28 on: 07 May 2010, 22:22 »
I've used the TCP/IP plugin before to retrieve web pages in game and I believe scotch or SSH made a IRC client with it, I'm not sure if this could do the trick.
When I was a little kid we had a sand box. It was a quicksand box. I was an only child... eventually.

suicidal pencil

  • Posts: 157
  • The green-machine
    • I can help with animation
    • I can help with play testing
    • I can help with scripting
    • I can help with story design
    • I can help with web design
Re: Accessing the internet from within AGS
« Reply #29 on: 14 May 2010, 14:08 »
what if instead of retrieving web pages, but a plugin that gets data from a database? It could be pretty useful. High scores, for example.

eri0o

  • Posts: 390
    • eri0o worked on a game that was nominated for an AGS Award!
Re: Accessing the internet from within AGS
« Reply #30 on: 27 Apr 2018, 11:26 »
hey, does someone have any idea on how to port this plugin to Linux ?

edit: I found a source here: https://bitbucket.org/monkey0506/ags_shell/src/6516d82861c2?at=master

But I am not sure on how to start.

edit2: I started a repo here: https://github.com/ericoporto/agsshell

Trying to find the equivalent command for Linux to be able to port it...
« Last Edit: 28 Apr 2018, 19:57 by eri0o »

eri0o

  • Posts: 390
    • eri0o worked on a game that was nominated for an AGS Award!
Re: Accessing the internet from within AGS
« Reply #31 on: 28 Apr 2018, 20:52 »
It worked!

binary release | github repo

Use this like below:
Code: Adventure Game Studio
  1.   if( System.OperatingSystem == eOSWindows ){
  2.     ShellExecute("open", "rundll32.exe", "url.dll,FileProtocolHandler http://www.google.com");
  3.   } else if( System.OperatingSystem == eOSLinux ){
  4.     ShellExecute("", "", "xdg-open http://www.google.com");
  5.   }
  6.  

Right click, save link as... libagsshell.so

Right click, save link as... agsshell.dll

I actually didn't generate the above .dll but if someone with Windows could confirm the above code works. I based on monkey0506 code linked above.
« Last Edit: 28 Apr 2018, 21:03 by eri0o »