Feedback on my design document

Started by lostbuthappy, Fri 15/05/2009 23:05:59

Previous topic - Next topic

lostbuthappy

Good evening,

about a week ago I decided that my first adventure would be a RON game and so I started the process of violently pulling ideas out of my brain just to kick them in the waste basket afterwards, until I realized that I'd never be satisfied no matter how good or bad they were. Then I decided to take one of the ideas and give it a try. I wrote an early design document that describes new locations, characters, the plot and some puzzles. It's only ten pages long yet, but I think it's enough to determine whether the game fits in the RON spacetime and if it's worth the time and sweat.

I have no experience in writing stories (especially not for adventures and especially especially not in English) and have huge problems to decide whether my idea is good or just a piece of junk, which is why I humbly ask if one or two of the experienced ronatics in here could take a look at my draft and tell me if it's worth a try and suggest improvements.
If you really dare to give it a try, please let me know which format you prefer (odt, doc, pdf...) and I'll put it somewhere on the internet.

Thanks in advance,
lbh

Btw: I decided to go for a jeu noir, a hardboiled whodunit, starring Max Griff, maybe the most difficult character there is for non-gilberts ;)
It's a story about $54.40 and a little poodle.
(No kittens.)
Disclamer: When I say I'm an artist I usually just mean that I can selectively apply filters to an image until it looks like a blurry version of Uranus.

DeviantGent

Cool beans, I'm pretty sure a lot of us here would be happy to take a butchers. Brent Williams (aka Brentmous) in particular might be a good chap to swing your ideas by - he's currently working on a Max Griff mystery himself, 'Dial F for Fedora', so with anything relating to dialogue and story (outside of teh DaveG, of course), he's a good mind to pick.