What is BigBlueCup.com and why is the editor dialing home to it?

Started by -------, Fri 07/05/2010 03:22:14

Previous topic - Next topic

-------

Hi everyone and here is a complete newbie question.
I have just installed AGS Editor to run a trial and see what can be done with it.

In the time it took me to set it up, get the first screen up, start a dummy project and registering here to ask this question, the AGS Editor has tried to connect to port 80 on BigBlueCup.com about 10 times.

My firewall is freaking out and I am relentlessly paranoid about "ET Phone Home" applications, no matter how much Lucas Arts has to do with AGS.

I would like to know a) Why is the editor doing this stuff? b) How do I turn it off? and c) is it meant to submit something special to give you guys user feedback or so?

It seems a little bit to intrusive for my taste.
Fair use in all honor, but fair warning is also appreciated in return.

---
to answer my own question and make it painfully apparent to anyone else having these concerns...

1) in the AGS editor, select FILE >> PREFERENCES

2) Locate the box saying "Usage statistics" and un-check (un-tick in the UK) the box.

3) click OK and you're set

AdamM

Why, adventuregamestudio.co.uk is the website you're currently visiting. The editor should have asked you about this when you installed it. It's collecting usage information; nothing personal, and it can be turned off if you don't want it. You can read all about it in the help files under the title 'Anonymous usage information'.

-------

Thanks Adam, I just filled in the blanks for other users.
---
The help file also specifies...

When does it send this information?

The editor contacts the AGS website once a month and sends it these details.

Will games that I make contact the AGS website?

No, only the editor does this.