Background Blitz: 19/01 - 03/02/2011 - WINNER ANNOUNCED

Started by Mordalles, Wed 19/01/2011 01:27:53

Previous topic - Next topic

Mordalles

Topic: Any deserted or abondened location/room
Description: Create a background of any location that is now deserted or abondened. It can be anything, eg. abondened railway station, gas or space station, deserted ghost town, boarded up mine, or any other fantasty, sci-fi or made location that is now deserted etc.

Restrictions:
  - AGS compatible
  - There should be a sign or signs (verbal or non-verbal) that this place is abondened.

Voting: starts 3rd of February unless someone wants extension.

Hopefully this is okay topic, i'm not very good at coming up with one.

"It's a fairy! She's naked! Curse these low-res graphics!" - Duty and Beyond

Buckethead

Here's my entry:

I also did this sort of step by step thingy:

As I work in 3d I first setup a simple blockout of what I want to make. I use alot of instances because if I edit one, all copies will change too. Which just make things go really fast. The textures are 3 different tiling images that I've used all over the place. The leaves are just simple planes with a leave texture. This screen is a flat render with no lighting information. It's nice because I can add in and adjust the lighting easier later.

Here I've placed the lighting information on a new layer in Photoshop and set it to multiply. The lighting is an ambient occlusion render with also a few omni lights placed here and there. I didn't really need to adjust the lighting much in Photoshop this time around as I had done alot of lighting tests. The only thing I've changed are the shadows the leaves casted. They were just really harsh and funky and I thought it looked better if I smudged them out.