Indiana Jones old-school

Started by , Mon 04/06/2012 19:07:09

Previous topic - Next topic

Guybrush379

Hey guys, I made this room for my adventure, it's the first room in which Indy appears, "Henry House". The story takes place after Last Crusade actually so I decided to rebuilt and draw the house with my own style (ripping some little elements from the original version also). What do you think? It's my first attempt in digital colouring. It's not completed yet, I want to refine edges with paint and of course the other details like books, objects.

I've used this method:

-Draw and marked the lines then scan.
-Colouring with photoshop
-Made it 8-bit 256 VGA with the same Indy palette

The original drawing is better looking, anyway I want to use 256 like in Last Crusade. Do you know how to preserve at best the image making it pixel art? Thanks

EchosofNezhyt

Not too shabby.

Props to sticking with the old school and stuff, If your re-sizing your drawings for pixel art use nearest neighbor as the resize option.

For best looking redraw it at that resolution

Khris

Actually, since this isn't really Pixel Art (it's a matter of definition, but to me, Pixel Art means you place each pixel using a fixed, low color palette), I'd go the "draw it at a high resolution, then scale it down to 320" route without using nearest neighbor scaling or a limited palette.

There's a clear benefit to doing a low-res game, but there's no obvious reason for downgrading art to a 256 color palette. It servers no purpose unless you actually do a 256 game because you want color-cycling (sacrificing transparency in the process). Also, the method you've used is flawed; the dithering is too uniform and there's noise in the picture everywhere (color noise near dark parts, and artifacts in the white parts).

There's also a big difference to the Indy3 backgrounds: black outlines.