Criticism wanted on New Mexico Background Art

Started by Fred Five, Mon 18/08/2014 22:14:59

Previous topic - Next topic

Fred Five

Hi guys!

I've been working on this background today. It's my first attempt on doing pixelart backgrounds, and would really love to get some feedback from some skilled people such as your selves.
From a tech POV, would this background work in a game? Since I'm practicing on doing backgrounds early 1990's style for a game I'm currently writing, it would be most helpful to get some input.

Thanks in advance!

EDIT: Reuploaded smaller picture.

Snarky

First attempt, you say? Very impressive!

Could you maybe scale it back down to some more reasonable size, and use an imgzoom tag if you want to be able to view it larger?

I'd say it's looking very good overall. Love the mountain in the background. Maybe work on getting the antialiasing more consistent. Many parts have none whatsoever, while some things (like the flag pole and telephone poles) look excessively blurry. The shadow from the camper doesn't look quite right to me (too much like a bit of Photoshop burn), and the flowers look partially transparent, and maybe the wrong shade of green? Consider perhaps giving them a shadow as well. (In fact, on closer look a number of objects in the scene look slightly transparent; the effect is disturbing.)

You might also want to indicate the exits from this screen more clearly, maybe by a path in the dust or some such?

Oh, and I just realized, is that a stream in the background? Hmmm... not quite successful, I think. But that's only relative to the picture aa a whole, which is very good. This is really just nitpicking.

Gribbler