Art Style Suggestions

Started by SilverSpook, Sun 07/09/2014 03:11:33

Previous topic - Next topic

SilverSpook

WIP of the title graphic / ingame background for Neofeud, a game I'm currently porting to AGS from Shadowrun Returns.

I dub this, "Journey Of Self-Discovery That I'm Not An Artist."  I'm still on the look out for one, so I'm doing my own in the mean time.  Took me.... God don't want to think about it how many dozens of hours.  Still not sure if this fuster cluck of an art project is shaping up to be something more than an arrangement of proportionless rectangles drawn by an epileptic ferret, who forgot to snort half his coke lines and passed them off as, "city lights".  Sorry, had to get that self-hate fest out, it's just been a lot of really frustrating evenings.

Any suggestions on... anything, especially how to get the buildings to be a bit more... believable?

I'm trying to imply feudal trappings and near-future sci/spec-fic subtext, simultaneously.  That's the diarrhea-and-bile color palette plaguing the lower half, where the "low-borns" live.  Flea bottomites, Chiba City rejects. 

Overall I'm going for Neo-reactionary-ism, taken to the nth degree. Dark Enlightenment manifest destiny, a libertarian wet dream.

I'm trying to hone in on some of the cornerstone symbolism on which to pour the cement, or cobbletone as it may occur... I need the "Pillars" so to speak. Reminds me, need to add Greco-Roman pillars to that balcony, fluted.  Needs more gold maybe.  Gilded.

If you're not sure what the hell I'm talking about, join the club!

Thanks for having a look, in advance!

P.S.  Here's anot.er earlier version.  Didn't like it all that much, but it has the title in it!

monkey424

Hi SilverSpook.