Midi to Wav (as pc beeper)

Started by arj0n, Fri 12/09/2014 11:48:30

Previous topic - Next topic

arj0n

So I have a midi file.
I'd like to have it converted to a wav or mp3 but sounding like the pc speaker/beeper.

As I'm a noob fir midi, is it possible to 'convert' a midi file to wav (or mp3) PLUS make it sound like pc speaker sound (beeps), and if it is possible, how?

-arj0n

Crimson Wizard

A word of precaution: MIDI sounds depend on installed MIDI sound library (banks), therefore they may sound differently on two different computers.
Dunno how they do the conversion, maybe they choose some particular bank for this?

Scavenger

Either:

1) Play the MIDI file in DOSBOX using a PC-Speaker MIDI player (There is one on this page) and record the raw output from DOSBOX.
or
2) Turn the MIDI file into a MOD file and find a recording of the PC Speaker, and use that as the instrument.

arj0n

@RWolf, thanx. I'm familiar with such sites, but i'm looking more for a desktop tool...
I did found 'GXSCC Beta 236E', a Japanese tool. Gonna try that one out tonight first :)

@CW: thanx for the info and yes, the banks... That's why I'd like to convert the midi's on my pc to a wav for example.
I guess when converting it uses a default bank.

@Scavenger: yes, I can record it using dosbox and set the play 'true speaker'.
I could also use tracker software indeed. But got no clue if it will load midi... I'm used to load wav's as instrument/samples....

Snarky

So it sounds like Scavenger's first suggestion solves your issue, right?

arj0n

In a away it does, Snarky.

I was already aware of the dosbox recording option (I use it together with d-fend).
I was actually more looking for some kind of converter mid->'wav in pc speakers style'.
That's the actual question in the first post ;)

Snarky