Possibility of viruses in AGS games?

Started by loomer, Thu 02/10/2014 21:02:02

Previous topic - Next topic

loomer

Hello there,

I'm writing this because I got an "Infected" warning out of the game Naked Fear.

AVG AntiVirus FREE blocks it from running, reporting that it's infected with IDP.Trojan.CB452937. This might be a false alert of course, but given the nature of the game (judging by it's review) I am suspicious. Could someone knowledgeable do a bit of research here? I'm a little concerned, as it's on the top downloads list for some odd reason :confused: ;)

It seems that the AGS games are often hosted on the game developers' own sites. I wonder if there is any virus check done before entering the game onto the AGS website. Of course, this would clog up resources of the AGS team... I'm a newbie in the community (not with the games of course) and unfortunately not knowledgeable of the entire AGS game distribution process, so bear with me.

m0ds

Well apparently that game is all kinds of wrong even before it's been downloaded...

Whilst the AGS exe itself is unlikely to contain viruses, that doesn't mean the zip or initial download package (which may also be an exe, an installer or such) won't contain viruses. As far as I know, there's never been a malicious attempt before.

And PS, no, I doubt that. As much as we'd love to get a virus on your behalf to make sure no-one else does, it probably ain't gonna happen! ;)

The game has a panel rating and a comment, and no mention of a virus from those users. That said if something malicious is found, we will of course likely remove the link/offending game if it gets reported to stop others having a problem.