Make cursor mode change over a hotspot unless an inventory item.

Started by streetcutter, Wed 28/01/2015 22:12:56

Previous topic - Next topic

streetcutter

Hey Guys.
I'm pretty new to AGS and I'm sorry if this has been posted before, but I have searched and can't seem to find anything.

I want to have a cursor mechanic like Broken Sword as in the the cursor changes to the relevant mode as it floats over an item rather then having to cycle through them.
I've done this successfully by using this script on a hotspot or object.
Code: ags

function hHallway_MouseMove()
{
    mouse.SaveCursorUntilItLeaves();
    mouse.Mode = eModeInteract;
}

But I need the exception to be if the player is using an inventory item, like a key for a door.
It's probably very very simple but I cant quiet work it out. Any help would be awesome.

Thanks Guys, Justin

monkey0506

Is simply checking the cursor mode first insufficient?

{
    if (mouse.Mode != eModeUseinv)
    {
    }
}

Snarky

So the simple answer to your question (as monkey said while I was writing) is to put in a test for the current mouse mode, and only do it if it's not in inventory-object mode.

{
    if(mouse.Mode != eModeUseinv)
    {
    }
}

... However, the solution you describe sounds like you're a bit on the wrong track. You definitely don't want to be writing almost identical versions of this method for every object and hotspot on every screen: it's a lot of work, it's easy to miss something somewhere, and if you need to change something it's a total pain.

What you should do instead is to write one method that can change the cursor for whatever it is you're hovering over, and just store a flag for each hotspot/object/character about which cursor to use. You can do this in the global script repeatedly_execute_always() using Hotspot/Object/Character.GetAtScreenXY() and GetLocationType(). To store the cursor for that thing, you can use a custom property.