Retro->Painted Castle wall

Started by notid1, Thu 26/02/2015 22:45:30

Previous topic - Next topic

notid1

Hello!

I've been hacking on an adventure game for the past 6 months called "Tick's Tales - A Knight to Remember." It's a modernized take on a retro-styled adventure.

It's actually not an AGS game, but I'm popping in because I've recently discovered Zyndikate's artwork. Wow! I was impressed with the work it that I was inspired to repaint one of my screens using his one of his color palettes and technique, to learn. Here's my WIP so far:

I decided to change the point of view some too, so I took part of the scene above.

I'm happy with this result so far. The palette that I lifted makes it really easy to shade. The one area I'm not so stoked on so far is the castle wall. My big area of concern is that castle wall. It's obviously half-done, but something doesn't feel right about it, even now. As if it doesn't interact with the environment at all, and is just pasted there. In the spirit of learning, I thought I'd come here and ask for feedback on this work in progress. Any ideas as to what can improve the integration of the various components?

Thanks a lot!

Mandle

I think a reason the wall feels kinda just "plunked down" in the scene is the way it connects with the ground. If you look at real walls of this type the bottom block does not come flush with the ground. The blocks and the entire wall wall continue down under the ground (otherwise it would be a bit too easy to just dig under and get inside). Also, after the wall has been there for some time wind, rain, and other natural forces are going to push earth up against the wall at its base or erode earth away. So the way the earth connects with the wall will end up more undulating instead of flat. Plants will also start to grow up the wall just as they grow up and over rocks in nature.

Just some stuff I noticed straight away anyways: But NICE PICTURE so far! ;-D

notid1