Portrait critique

Started by Myinah, Wed 03/06/2015 08:55:07

Previous topic - Next topic

Myinah

Hey

I have next to no experience with digital art or painting, not since my GCSE days anyway, but I would like to improve so I had a crack at a self portrait and tested out art rage 4.

Would love some constructive feedback and if you have any recommended tutorials or books for digital painting they would also be greatly appreciated. I have no clue what I'm doing and I have definitely aged myself in the picture and the eyes are kinda weird.

vertigoaddict

It's not that bad, I have that problem where I end up aging people too. I'm not an expert, but this is a very rough... "line-up" of areas I feel could be fixed to match the photograph better.

^ does that make sense?

Right off the bat, I could tell that you softened/rounded your eyebrows, they are sharper/more angular in the photograph. Your right eye has less eyeshadow showing under the arch of your eyebrow. Add some eyelid detail on your left eye and make the edge near the nose a bit sharper.

SilverSpook

Looks pretty good for not knowing what you're doing!  Also you have a very striking face, which is good for making your work instantly recognizable.

The oldness is a factor of the hard edges, I think.  Take a smoother or a smudger or something that airbrushes (can't remember the specific Art Rage tools) to youthify the portrait.  Especially between the cheeks and the mouth.  Maybe consider adding a bit more ruddiness / blush to the cheeks.

Looks great, keep goin!!

Myinah

Vertigoaddict - Thank you for the highlighted areas. I did a bit of work on them, and especially in the eye area things have improved. You were totally right about the brows. I was doing my usual cartoon brows not really focusing on the angled shape. I also realised I had done my face too wide. I have a long face so thinning it out has helped a bit I think.