A promotional background/title screen

Started by Mouth for war, Sat 12/09/2015 02:02:04

Previous topic - Next topic

Mouth for war

So I've been working damn hard on my RPG for a few months now and yesterday, I had an idea to make a background I could use when I'll be announcing the game on various forums etc. What do you think about it? :)

mass genocide is the most exhausting activity one can engage in, next to soccer

vertigoaddict

It looks cool, but I personally feel the thunder strike should be taken out, I feel like it's a bit distracting and doesn't add much to the atmosphere, rather it takes away from it. the title "Earth : Anarchy" should have less transparency, I love the effect and, I use it a lot myself, but I feel it would be more beneficial to have it more opaque when it comes to this image.
Other than that, maybe raise the contrast (or hue) a smidge, I get that you may be trying to give it a dreary, post-apocalyptic feel, but if you made the orange and blue colours a little more apparent it could subconciously please the eye and attract people more; it's something Hollywood usually falls back into when they make their posters, you'll see it often in the actual movies themselves too.

Sometimes it's just more one or the other (orange or blue, but contemporary movie posters tend to utilise both).
That being said, some people have caught up to it and find it utterly annoying, but you've already made use of orange and blue here, so why not?

Mouth for war

Thanks! you have good points. I will fiddle with it some more :-D

Ghost

I think you should add some highlight/rimlight to the shadowy figure in the foreground. It stands in a very dark place already and is almost swallowed by the surrounding shadows. Even the goddamn Batman is never fully black :D

Mouth for war

Here's an update, with a little light in the figure area as well ;D didn't remove lightning though...I haven't decided yet hehe

Mouth for war