Help for a newbie

Started by McArtney82, Tue 06/10/2015 15:20:25

Previous topic - Next topic

McArtney82

Ok so I'm very new to this and like most people with a background more based in programming graphics scare me. I've been working on my first ever background for my first ever game and wanted to see if I could get some feedback. This is the first scene, inside a space station (police station), there is an exit to the left and right and a door to the captains cabin. There's an old fridge, full of nothing but old uneaten lunches and the room (like most of the station) is lit by green lights all over the wall.

Bearing in mind I'm not going to have the skills to enhance too much, can anyone give me some advice to step it up a notch>

cat

Not bad for a first background!

There seems to be lots of empty space in that scene. The floor is huge - is this intentional? Due to obvious circumstances, I'd expect corridors in space stations to be much narrower. You could do this by "zooming in" on the image, i.e. not showing so much floor.

Cassiebsg

What cat said, plus I'll add that that fridge is very very small... Double it that should make it look more realistic. ;)
There are those who believe that life here began out there...

Blondbraid

QuoteWhat cat said, plus I'll add that that fridge is very very small... Double it that should make it look more realistic. ;)
I agree, I is small. Or is the door supposed to be unusually large?
How does it look compared to the characters of the game? (If the game is supposed to have visible characters that is...)
Otherwise the background has a clean and polished feel and I like the color scheme, but the floor looks a bit empty.
Some lines or a tile pattern maybe?

McArtney82

Thanks for the feedback, I agree the fridge is too small and the corridor too wide. Really appreciate it everyone :)

Stromvin

Hi there

I agree with most what has been said, pluss adding my own crazy ideas ;)