Having trouble with objects

Started by TheHostileBanana, Sun 10/04/2016 01:52:15

Previous topic - Next topic

TheHostileBanana

Today I started learning how to use ags and followed the tutorial without to much difficulty until I got to the objects part. I had previously had some trouble with the hotspots because for some reason the phrase "this door looks pretty solid" always showed up just after the description of one of the hotspots I had created. After unsuccessfully checking the script for any sign of this phrase, I gave up on fixing it and went on. Later, wile learning how to use objects, I found out there was an object that I hadn't created in the room. Since it was a door, I assumed it was what was causing that phrase to show up in a completely random place. I tried to deleted the door but after doing that and launching the game I get this error:  room1.asc(7): Error (line 7): undefined symbol 'oDoor'
I tried relaunching ags and deleting it again but I ran into the same problem every time I tried to save. I haven't found a solution for this anywhere. Please help.

Gurok

There's not enough information in the description provided to help you.

What was the error message you received?
Which game template (if any) were you using?
[img]http://7d4iqnx.gif;rWRLUuw.gi

Danvzare

If I had to take a wild guess at what the problem is (and trust me, this is a wild guess, since you've not given enough information), I'd say that somehow you've ended up with that certain hotspot calling that door's look at function, and now that the door (and its function) is gone, the game is unhappy that it can't find the function.

But like I said, its just a wild guess. A shot in the dark.

Like Gurok said, we need to know the error message you received.

TheHostileBanana

The error is: room1.asc(7): Error (line 7): undefined symbol 'oDoor'

Danvzare

Can you give us the room script for room1 as well.
From there, we should be able to figure it out. :)

Slasher