AGS suggestion: full screen, sprite compression and animated background.

Started by SergioAntonio, Wed 20/09/2017 10:55:15

Previous topic - Next topic

SergioAntonio

I'm still rather new to working with AGS. however I have noticed a few things that I hope with be fixed/added to the engine.
issues:
1) when you run a game for the first time it defaults to full screen mode, however. full screen mode is not really full screen. the game does not take the entire screen, it is centered with a lot of empty space around the game.
2) the file balloons up rather quickly when you have a game lets say in 800x600 mode with complex images, liked 3d rendered characters and background.
3) if you want to animate the background you are limited to 5 frames.

hopeful solution/additions:
1) full screen mode should automatically scale the game to take up the entire screen. and the game should default to window mode if possible( without the need to run setup).
2) instead of using rle or what ever method you use to save the images. save them in png format, and when the game starts convert them to rle(if needed for speed) in memory.
3) why not add the ability to load a video and loop it in the background... if there is an improved method of compressing images, and then this might not be needed... but it would still be a nice feature to have.

Thanks.

eri0o

The default of the first is up to the person releasing the game. Just pack the acsetup.cfg when sending your game. In the new beta you can do that configuration directly from the editor. The black bar thing and everything depends on what you configure.

2 I think the game already does some compression but you can distribute your game zipped. But yeah, it would be cool if the game only uncompressed when ran.

3 is easily workaround with scripting.

Crimson Wizard

Quote from: SergioAntonio on Wed 20/09/2017 10:55:15