Learning good coding practices

Started by Lord Vetinari, Thu 14/12/2017 07:38:47

Previous topic - Next topic

Lord Vetinari

Hi everybody.
I'm a mostly self-tought programmer. I learned the very basics in high school, then dabbled with it in and out throughout the years until a couple of years ago I got infected by the coding virus and started spending way too many weekends writing stuff. I believe I reached the point when I'm quite confident when it comes to the "grammar" of AGS Script, C++ and C#, or at least confident enough to find almost always a way of putting together something that does what I want it to do thanks to the ancient and revered art of the kludge.
I can only describe what I write as the coding equivalent of a splatter movie, and I really want to learn to write better, less messy programs, but I believe that keep trying on my own is not the answer; at least, it has not been the answer so far, and I can't imagine it changing in the near future.

I know that the ideal solution would be to follow a proper course, but that's not an option right now. What resources (ideally online) would you suggest me to get better in this field?

If you feel like sharing, how many of you never had a formal education in coding and computer science and managed to become a good coder? How?

Mandle

As for AGS there is an amazing series by densming that starts HERE and not only covers good coding practices but also pretty much everything you would ever need to know about using AGS if you watch through the entire series of tutorials.

As for my personal advice (and I'm a really lackluster coder at best):

(1) Proper indenting!
(2) Name variables something you will remember 6 months later even if it is "NextCutsceneCounter" instead of "NCC".
(3) Copious ammounts of notes behind // on any line you think you might not remember what it does 6 months later.