Cutscene (changeroom) in the middle of a dialogue

Started by Lurch, Sun 11/02/2018 21:41:15

Previous topic - Next topic

Lurch

hi everyone, ags newbie here.

i tried reading the manual and browsing the forum but i couldn't found a solution to my problem, so i figured i'd ask directly.

what i'd like to do is "change room" while a dialogue is running. not at the beginning or at the end of a dialogue option, but in between.
the "room" is actually just a single picture. it's like a cutscene, but no animations or anything, just the pic.

i tried writing something like this in the dialogue script:

Code: ags

@2
Characterone: blah blah blah
Charactertwo: blah blah
 player.Changeroom(9); <-- that's the "cutscene" room
 Wait(35);
 player.Changeroom(4, 400, 400); <-- that's the previous room, the player is supposed to go back to where he was during the first part of the dialogue
Characterone: blah blah

unfortunately, that doesn't seem to work.

should i write a function in the global script or in the room script instead? i'm totally clueless right now. any help will be greatly appreciated!

Crimson Wizard

Hello.

Unfortunately AGS does not support changing rooms in the middle of a script function, only in the end.
So, the only solution is to split the script in parts (or dialogs - in this case).

1. Play the dialog part #1.
2. Change to "cutscene" room 9.
3. After finishing cutscene in room 9, change back to room 4.
3. Upon entering room 4, start dialog part #2.
4. and so on.

Since you revisit same rooms several times under different circumstances, you need to introduce a condition, that would tell you when you need to start a dialog and when not.

For example, you could create a global variable called "int InCutscene;" (or rather use more descriptive name, since you game may have many cutscenes).
In the first dialog you set it up:

@2
 InCutscene = 1; <--- set variable
stop <---- end the dialog

In the room's 9 "After fade-in" event do:

// room 9