How to create an event that only happens the second time you walk into a room?

Started by gracefully-gauche, Wed 09/05/2018 16:48:31

Previous topic - Next topic

gracefully-gauche

Hey, I had an idea for my game where I'd like a character to appear and block off a doorway, but only the second time you walk into a room. The character can be "defeated" (thus unblocking off the door and allowing for you to leave) by giving them three objects that you can pick up. I was thinking of triggering the character with a hotspot, but I know that if I do that, the character will appear every time you try to leave the room when I only want it to appear once. Is there a way for me to create a one-time event like this? Thanks!

ManicMatt

One way would be global variables. I'm not very good at explaining things, but if you look in the AGS manual, it should explain it.

But basically its a way of telling AGS if something should happen or not, in most cases.

Deep Dark Fears

I think that you could something like this using a variables.

Let's write that you have: a closed door (hotspot), a blocking person (character) and inventory items.

First you need to add a bool variable like IsThisSecondVisitInThisRoom. If it is, then you set ClosedDoor.Visible = true and same for character and also you could disable change room function. Second you add a variable for giving items like ItemAlreadyGiven or ItemCollected. When the player give first item to character, the value of variable is changed to one and when second item is given is two and so on. If the value is three then you set ClosedDorr.Visible = false and for character and re enabled change room function.

As for bool variable I think you can operate using room_Leave() funtion.

Code: ags

function room_Load()
{
    if((IsThisSecondVisitInThisRoom == true) && (IsCharacterDefeated == false))
    {
    //here you put code where you block door and a blocking character appears
    }
}

room_Leave()
{