First attempt for a forest background

Started by Valiant1, Mon 21/04/2003 14:58:59

Previous topic - Next topic

Valiant1

Hello i'm new here and just discovered this forum a few days ago. Although i've been active in several projects as a writer and designer i always loved to try my own hands at game-art. I try to improve my skills both in sketching and computer art. The background i post here is created in photoshop without any reference or sketch. I would appreciate any tips to improve my skills :)

Dmitri

looks pretty darn nifty to me mate

but on the right, I've never seen a tree smash it's roots through solid rock, maybe extend the roots off screen so that it appears the tree has grown with the rock underneath it.

Other than that I can't really pick anything up
Pretzels :B

Pessi

I agree - really, really good!

Did you take any influence from King's Quest VGA? If not, check it out. It's very close to your style, only a bit more polished.

I'm going to list a couple of things that in my opinion could be improved. Remember, it's just my opinion, and the things I point out might just be part of your style.

- The perspective is a bit off. It could be OK otherwise, but the trees on the foreground - especially the one on the right, don't fit the perspective. You could fix the problem by covering the upper part of the tree with leaves, I think.

- The main light source is a bit indefinite. It's obvious that the light is coming from the sky, but you could emphasize the fact by adding more shadows. In addition to regular, definite shadows, you could for example make the trees' trunks a bit darker from the upper part, as the leaves wouldn't let much light there. Shadows in general would tremendously add to the depth of the image.