ISP problems?

Started by , Tue 29/04/2003 03:38:58

Previous topic - Next topic

Mezlo...

Hello and greetings,

I'm having a small problem with my connection and wondered if anyone had any thoughts or suggestions. (I'm rather new to the internet) I tried to post to general discussion but because of the problem it's here. So here it is... either my settings are wrong or my ISP is screwed up. When I login I can see my name at the top... Mezlo.
When I go to a different forum I see Guest. If I hit the back button I'm told I need to refresh and retry to send the information to the site. Then I can see my name again. I can't edit my profile or post.... bummer.
I have had problems with other programs as well. In Tesla (file sharing network) my friends can get my list but not my files and in MSN messanger my friends see me as offline even when we are chatting.
I'm using IE v6 with a ISDN connection at work... 3 more computers are using the ISDN hookup box as it is the hub of our little network for sharing files.
Now for the fun part... I'm in Japan and the documents for the connection/hub are in Japaness...
I don't want to go to the ISP people untill I have a good idea of where the problem is....

Any thoughts?
Thankyou for any advise,

M.

Gilbert

Hmmm have you checked the setting of your browser and ensure that cookies, etc. settings were set up properly?

RickJ

Gilbot is right on!!   Make sure you have cookies enabled.  The fourm setsa couple of cookies with your login information.  Everytime yoiu click on something those cookies are checked to see if you are logged in.  Make sure cookies are enabled, delete all of your cookies, delete any cookie sites the browser has retained and then try again.

Mezlo...

I've already deleted the cookies ealier today and went so far as to allow AGS full access. This did not alter the problem in any way...

M.

c.leksutin