Affordable MIDI keyboard

Started by Hobbes, Wed 07/05/2003 15:21:59

Previous topic - Next topic

Hobbes

Hi all,

Seeing that there are quite a few people out there who make MIDI files, perhaps you can help me out.

I've bought an Audigy 2 Platinum about 2 months ago and have been very happy with it since. Downloaded a neat 19mb General Midi soundfont which kinda beats the standard 4mb one.

So, now I'm looking into the possibilities of connecting a keyboard to the card. I have all the connectors I need, etc... but: I don't have the keyboard.

Now I saw Creative has launched "ProdiKeys" but to me that just looks like crap. Barely more than one octave and those keys look... well... horrible. I've been playing the piano for 12 years now and the keys should at least be real-size.

Now, I also know Creative had a Blasterkey MP3 keyboard out there, seeing it's nice pricetag at $ 100.  For me in Holland it'll be a bit more expensive with all the importing, but I'll manage.

However, are there any other keyboard out there worth getting? Or a Controller as I believe they are called, when they can't make a sound by themselves but only with help of the computer soundcard?

Trapezoid

Well, if you can actually PLAY the keyboard that's fine, get one.
I prefer to construct my midis note by note with the mouse in Cakewalk. Ok, it's not completely note by note, since you can drag-copy most of it, but you have total control.

Hobbes

Well, yes, I can play one. The point is: which one should I get?

There are loads of very expensive ones, but I don't need one that can make sound. :)

BOYD1981

you can pick up a midi keyboard for about £20 (the kind that don't make a sound), the thing i don't like about them though is they're not full size, it might be better to spend a little more on an old keyboard that's midi compatible or has XG or something, best thing to do would probably be to check ebay...

Limey Lizard, Waste Wizard!