Any examples of 3D AGS games?

Started by tgentry, Tue 13/05/2003 05:53:10

Previous topic - Next topic

tgentry

I'm a 3d artist and I'm looking to make an adventure game over the summer. I'd like to use prerendered 3D graphics, but I understand that this is a program designed mainly for the 2D graphics of the old days. Has anyone succesfully done 3D graphics game with AGS? What's the best way to get the most out of the graphics. I have a fast machine but the at 800x600 and 256 colors, the test I ran ran really slow! Any ideas?

travis gentry
www.travisgentry.com

scotch

Try Norman Cooks http://www.agsforums.com/games.php?action=detail&id=120

3d rendered graphics can work in ags.. although 2d is more suited obviously.  A good 3d artist should be able to make something that looks nice though.

I don't think you should use 800x600 though.. it's slow.. how fast is your machine?

Edit: And judging from your site you can make nice characters :) if it's animated well then it should look great.

Esseb

If you're interested in 800*600 resolution, you might want to check out SLUDGE which is more optimized for it. The engine is a bit harder to use though, and I don't know how helpful the community there is when it comes to techie questions.

Out of Order is an example of a 800*600 game made with it. Ignore the low res main character, he was drawn for 600*480 first then resized when the creator (who also made the engine) wanted to up the resolution and CBA to redraw all the animations :).

Oh yeah, and nice art :).

rodekill

Your art is so delicious you made me spoil my dinner by eating my mousepad. Thanks.
SHAWNO NEWS FLASH: Rodekill.com, not updated because I suck at animation. Long story.
peepee

m0ds

You're not thinking of calling your game Myst, are you?

:P
m0ds

TerranRich

By. The. Sword.

www.harbinger-software.com/bts

It will use pre-rendered backgrounds and characters. Try out the demo. :)

tgentry