Occultas Veritas - Background C&C

Started by Darth Mandarb, Fri 12/08/2005 21:31:29

Previous topic - Next topic

Darth Mandarb

We lost a few background artists for our game ... so I decided to take on the role myself.

I wanted to try a style I hadn't yet tried (some of you may remember the images I posted for the "Release Something" thing awhile back ...)

Anyway ... since I'm new to this style I wanted to get some feedback on it:

- this'll be a scrolling background

Thoughts?  Improvements?  Problems?

My biggest concern is the lighting ... Andail?  Loom?

Much thanks ...

Evil

The lighting looks good IMO, but the lighting on the catwalk seems awkward.

The planks seem to sit right on the edge of the concrete, maybe lengthen them. Also the right board seems to sit higher on the area where the character is.

The walk ways on the far right and left of the image (behind the bars) look too wide or too low. Something about them seems out of place.

The dirt on the closest walkway is out of place. The far walkway is very nice, but the closest has a weird wispy look.

All around the style is great. You've always got a great sence when it comes to mixing styles.

Miez

The lighting and use of colour is very good, nicely atmospheric. The only thing that sort of bugs me are the fracture lines in the stones. They seem a bit out of place...
Great BG for - what I expect - is going to be a great game...

loominous

Would probably go for something like this:

Since there only seem to be one lightsource in a pretty large enviroment, most would be very dark. The light would've probably been a dull fluorescent lamp (which has a green tint) but a warm tungsten would provide more color contrast so that would've been my choice. A fluoroscent light would probably serve better if it's supposed to be a more scary looking enviroment though.

I like the wall textures and enviroment was interesting, but the lighting struck me as quite boring as you mentioned.