Wacom / Pen tablets / What to know?

Started by raddicks, Tue 18/07/2006 10:46:14

Previous topic - Next topic

raddicks

Hey, I'm someone who is suffered years of using my laptop touchpad, even though I do like the touchpad (survives coffee stains remarkably and my sweaty fingers) it is becoming increasingly obvious if I want to get anywhere I need to get a mouse or a WACOM pen woot!

I'm currently dabbling in Swift 3D, 3DS max, Photoshop, Flash MX etc albeit with a crappy medium and it does mean it can be time consuming for myself. I am naturally a hand artist and I don't think the war of technology is ever going to show my real ability if I am constantly fighting against the pad.

I know there is some other threads with Wacom tablets - but some of these tablets are discontinued and I am uncertain aswell. possible features I may like...

+ Transparent flap (pen-to-paper write over) this may be optional
+ Preferably not uber expensive, I am a student after all
+ I use 3D programs, I am not sure of the compatibility of stylus pens or whether I need to buy a seperate specific pen etc but this is optional

Will anyone be able to help me out? I live in the UK, where electronics are horrendously overpriced. Thank you, I can't help but be a perfectionist and I want the best for my buck but who doesn't?

Becky

Not an expert opinion(so if I'm completely wrong ignore me:)), but the Wacom Volito 2 is £40 (it may have gone down) from Amazon.co.uk and does just fine.  I'm not sure there's really any compatibility options with the stylus....seems to do everything I want and works fine as a mouse.  No transparent flap though. 

ildu

Well, most tablets have a transparent flap, but it's more of a shield than a flap.