Royal Pair (Photoshop Tablet Art tutorial)

Started by MashPotato, Mon 04/09/2006 20:06:48

Previous topic - Next topic

MashPotato

Since I was asked about making a tutorial, I decided to show my latest painting as I work on it, and explain the steps as I go. 
However, this isn't really a "tutorial" in the usual sense, because I'm not so much showing the right way to do something as much as I am demonstrating the process I usually use.  In addition, unlike other tutorials, I would appreciate crit on my picture, as well as on my techniques, from others as I go (alternative ways to do things, shortcuts, general advice, etc.). 

Remember, what I say in the title is just what I mean--I am a painting noob.  Hopefully as I learn from my mistakes, and show the process of that, others will too ^_^.  I also have my fingers crossed that this painting will turn out okay (I normally don't show my WIPs :P)...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NOTES:

1.this is done in Adobe Photoshop CS2, but since everything I use is very basic, it should be applicable to all Photoshop versions, Painter, PSP, Photopaint, etc.  Not MS Paint, though--sorry ^_^
2. I use a wacom tablet.  Unless otherwise stated, pressure sensitivity is always set to opacity
3. If you want me to add actual screenshots, or want more detail in my descriptions, please ask ^_^

1. Drawing
I like playing cards, and have wanted to draw a picture inspired by the royal cards for a while.  There's not too much I can say at this point in terms of drawing... just practice ^_^.  It might be easier to clean up the sketch a bit more than I did before you scan, but I don't mind keeping it rough since I'm going to be taking out the pencil lines later anyway.
Here is the sketch of the Queen of Hearts and the King of Spades:

2. Colour Flatting