AGS Video tutorial on YouTube

Started by densming, Wed 17/09/2008 02:11:48

Previous topic - Next topic

densming

Hi everyone!

I'm starting to do a series of videos on YouTube about how to use AGS Editor to create a game.  At this point I've only got a couple of videos completed but I'll be creating more as time goes on.  I'd really love for folks to check them out and let me know what you think.

I'm no expert at AGS Editor by any means, but I know that a video tutorial would have helped me a lot when I was starting out so I wanted to create one.

The videos are on my channel on youtube (www.youtube.com/densming).  The tutorial goes over how to create Sammy's Quest, and there's a Sammy's Quest Walkthrough on my channel as well, so you might want to download the game and/or watch those videos first.

I hope these videos are helpful to someone just starting out with AGS!

Dave

Pumaman

This is a really good idea, nice one! Do you mind if I add a link to these videos from the AGS Website?

A couple of comments for any future revisions -- it would be nice to mention something about the game colour depth in the first or second video before you start importing sprites, since this is something that the user needs to get right early on.

Also, when setting up the views it would be nice to demonstrate the "Assign to View" feature for one of them rather than doing them all manually :)

Anyway, great work, I think these will be a lot easier for some people to follow than the text-based tutorial.

densming

Thanks for the positive feedback!

Sure, I think it would be great if you posted a link to the tutorial.

As to the 2 topics you mentioned, I'll be sure and address those in future vids or a supplementary video of some kind.  (I didn't even know about the "Assign to View" feature, or else I would have mentioned that when I was showing the views and sprites.)  That's exactly the kind of comments I am hoping to get.

Pumaman

Ok, link added!