Setup of 2-click interface. Left and Right mouse button.. How? [SOLVED]

Started by poc301, Thu 08/09/2011 19:57:21

Previous topic - Next topic

poc301

So I am just beginning to learn AGS 3.2 after many many many years of using 2.7.  I like the new setup, it seams much easier to use.

My problem is figuring out how to do some basic stuff, since the Forum Search function is broken.

I began a new game using the "Verb Coin" template.

I want to setup my game to allow the hotspots and objects to have a single cursor.  When the target is left-clicked, I want one set of code to run (walk to).  When the right button is clicked on the mouse, I want another set of code to run (use, look at, etc).

I figure I need to use standard code like :

if (button == eMouseLeft) {
// Walk-to script
 }

else if (button == eMouseRight) {
// Activate script
}

But I have no idea in this new version where to put it.  When I go into the properties of the hotspots/objects in AGS 3.2, there is a line for descriptions in the @OVERHOTSPOT@ line for the various things, but I am not sure how to set this up.

Thanks,

Bill

pcj

This code will need to be in on_mouse_click(MouseButton button) in the global script, then you can use ProcessClick(mouse.x, mouse.y, CursorMode) to process the left/right click as a different mode on the individual hotspot/object depending on the click.

Code: ags

function on_mouse_click(MouseButton button) {
  if (button == eMouseLeft) {
  // Walk-to script
     ProcessClick(mouse.x,mouse.y,eModeWalkTo);
  }
  else if (button == eMouseRight) {
  // Activate script
     ProcessClick(mouse.x,mouse.y,eModeInteract);
  }
}
Space Quest: Vohaul Strikes Back is now available to download!

poc301

Thanks so much Pcj!  I'll give that a try when I get home!

-Bill

Grim