Moderators, please sticky this topic, unsticky all existing 'AGS Linux' topics if possible.
AGS 2.62 Final runtime has been posted the Linux AGS website here:
http://drevil.warpcore.org/ags/
As far as progress on AGS Launch? Disaster has struck, during my recent move to a new home I failed to backup my code and everything I had done for it. This means that when I have time (I hope soon) I have to start all over. This will set me back by a few weeks unfortunately.
A reminder that the Linux version does NOT support plugins or movie playback (except FLC), and that you must have Allegro installed on your system to use it: http://alleg.sf.net/
A final note is that the ags-setup program has been statically linked to libglade based on user feedback so those of you who were having problems running the setup program shouldn't anymore. AGS Launch will fulfill the role of game browser, installer, and setup program in the future.
Have fun!
Good work , but it does NOT work. ::)
Since you started dynamically linking to the allegro library, i've had problems that aren't easy to overcome.
1. All sorts of segfaults, undefined symbols rgb_colorconv, accel_driver problem
2. Harder to distribute games to linux, and get them to work on some other distro without compiling the right version of allegro.
2.62 binaries don't work with Allegro v. 4.1.6 rpm from your website , nor does compiling it from source rpm. The problem is libjgmod, it is not provided with allegro, not provided with the rpms.. I can't find that library anywhere, its site is down. KAPUT!
./ags: error while loading shared libraries: /usr/local/lib/libjgmod.a: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Distribution is Mandrake 9.2
There's nothing wrong with its configuration... And it doesn't help if i tell you what game i'm
trying to run, because it gives the same error on every game, even with my game.
Please please please! Link to it statically, that's what they're doing with the Windows engine! Thank you.
sorry. Allegro 4.1.16 was the version
I solved the problem!
I found libjgmod
http://games.linux.sk/files/jgmod-0.99.tar.gz
go to the libs dir in it, choose unix
then copy libjgmod.so to /usr/local/lib/,
then link it in the same directory to libjgmod.so with a name libjgmod.a.
Then it works!!!!!
Hello. I am running Slackware 9.1 on my laptop. I tried downloading AGS Linux 2.62. I did not have Allegro installed, but i downloaded that and compiled it. But when I tryed to run it, it gave me the following error...
relocation error: ./ags: undefined symbol: _colorconv_rgb_scale_5x35
What can i do about this? Any help would be great.
Thanks,
Bob
--edit--
I have Allegro 4.1.6 installed. And when I try to run ags-setup I get the following error...
error while loading shared libraries: libxml.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
I believe that I have libxml2, should I downgrade?
Thanks again,
Bob
Quote from: ernesti on Thu 11/11/2004 14:36:50
Good work , but it does NOT work. ::)
Since you started dynamically linking to the allegro library, i've had problems that aren't easy to overcome.
1. All sorts of segfaults, undefined symbols rgb_colorconv, accel_driver problem
But, the problem is I can't statically link Allegro because it causes segfaults for others, I'm stuck! I'm researching other solutions.
Quote2. Harder to distribute games to linux, and get them to work on some other distro without compiling the right version of allegro.
I know, it's been a real headache for me.
Quote2.62 binaries don't work with Allegro v. 4.1.6 rpm from your website , nor does compiling it from source rpm. The problem is libjgmod, it is not provided with allegro, not provided with the rpms.. I can't find that library anywhere, its site is down. KAPUT!
./ags: error while loading shared libraries: /usr/local/lib/libjgmod.a: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Huh? Weirdness, jgmod is supposed to be statically linked into the binary, why this is suddenly not working anymore is confusing to me ???
I will post an updated binary when I find a fix for it.
QuotePlease please please! Link to it statically, that's what they're doing with the Windows engine! Thank you.
Unfortunately, I can't. In the grand wisdom of the Allegro people, they architect the library build for the Linux version completely different than the Windows version. They split Allegro into one static library and several dynamic libraries, which means that when I statically link Allegro, support for several important pieces of code are no longer present because they only exist in thos modules on my system. It's such a pain in the buttocks. I know it's a real pain, and I know it's inconvenient, but try as I might, I have not yet found a good solution. It really stinks. The other thing that is bad when static linking allegro is an incraese of almost a megabyte in filesize. I've been waiting on the
Ok, I've posted an updated binary that has jgmod properly statically linked in as well as fixing a font bug I let slip by.
As far as the allegro problems, all I can do is to point you to the Allegro site:
http://alleg.sf.net/
And make sure you install 4.1.16 if the binary I provide on the downloads page doesn't work.
Okay I had merged 2 topics into one single thread, and edited some stuff to make it more readable. :)
Quote from: ernesti on Thu 11/11/2004 14:36:50
2.62 binaries don't work with Allegro v. 4.1.6 rpm from your website , nor does compiling it from source rpm. The problem is libjgmod, it is not provided with allegro, not provided with the rpms.. I can't find that library anywhere, its site is down. KAPUT!
./ags: error while loading shared libraries: /usr/local/lib/libjgmod.a: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Distribution is Mandrake 9.2
When are you gonna get a proper distro that is NOT bugged and does NOT use RPM's? :-P
Get Debian if you need a dist with a package manager, at least it works.
and yeah!
i hope these binaries will work for me, i'll find that out tomorrow when i get my new game packaged and tested >:D
I also have the "libxml.so" problem.
Aaargh, i think i shall give up, i never manage to make anything work on Linux ::)
No, more seriously, i'd really like to be able to make AGS work on my system, and i don't understand these library problems... I solved the allegro one, but not the libxml one
Quote from: Monsieur OUXX on Thu 18/11/2004 13:43:32
I also have the "libxml.so" problem.
I managed to solve this particular problem :
- i downloaded the latest version of libXML 1 at ftp://xmlsoft.org/old/libxml-1.8.9.tar.gz
- i unzipped it, configured it (./configure) and built it (make)
- then i copied the ".so" files from the "<libxml's directory>/.lib" directory to the "/usr/lib/" directory
the result of this is to add version 1 of libxml library to your system.
I didn't try to add an alias named "libxwm1.so.1" that would point toward libxml2, maybe it works...
After having done this, ags-setup runs with (almost) no errors, but after that ags itself won't run : it displays the following allegro-related error message : "relocation error: /usr/local/lib/liballeg.so.4.1: undefined symbol: _accel_bank_stub"
I don't know if this is caused by a wrong compilation, or if it is caused by my hardware... maybe it's because I have a non-accelerated graphics card?
I imagine that could be due to having the wrong version of allegro. Make sure it's the same one as is mentioned on the AGS Linux website.
Quote from: Pumaman on Thu 18/11/2004 19:02:02
I imagine that could be due to having the wrong version of allegro.
I tried with :
- allegro 4.1.11 (the one recomanded)
- allegro 4.0.3 (the last stable version of allegro)
- even with allegro 4.1.16 (the disrecommanded one =))
It worked with neither... But i found something more interesting at http://people.debian.org/~dirson/shlibs/per-maint.txt
Here is an extract of this page :
-----------------
"The following libs have been reported to have undefined symbols.
For all those libs, one missing symbol was extracted and is listed
within parentheses.
Sam Hocevar (Debian packages) <sam+deb@zoy.org>:
liballegro4a:
/usr/lib/liballeg.so.4.0 (_accel_bank_stub)
liballegro4a-dbg:
/usr/lib/liballd.so.4.0 (_accel_bank_stub)"
------------------
This page might prove that the problem doesnt come from AGS, nor from Allegro, but directly from Debian (unlucky me!!! :'( As a matter of fact I'm using the Knoppix distribution (=> almost a Debian)
I think the opinion of a linux-geek would be welcome... what is the opinion of the coder in charge of the linux-port of AGS? ::)
out of curiosity, will ags in linux run the old quest for glory series (the VGA versions, not the original 1 and 2) and if not, is there any way that i can without DOSBox?
Nope ... AGS Linux runs AGS games, not Sierra games.
You could check out FreeSCI (http://freesci.linuxgames.com/) who are developing a linux interpreter for the sierra games.
Quote from: Monsieur OUXX on Thu 18/11/2004 13:43:32
I also have the "libxml.so" problem.
Aaargh, i think i shall give up, i never manage to make anything work on Linux ::)
No, more seriously, i'd really like to be able to make AGS work on my system, and i don't understand these library problems... I solved the allegro one, but not the libxml one
libxml? Uh, ags doesn't use libxml at all as far as I know. What executable are you running that is throwing a libxml error?
Quote from: Monsieur OUXX on Fri 19/11/2004 13:56:57
"The following libs have been reported to have undefined symbols.
For all those libs, one missing symbol was extracted and is listed
within parentheses.
<snip>
This page might prove that the problem doesnt come from AGS, nor from Allegro, but directly from Debian (unlucky me!!! :'( As a matter of fact I'm using the Knoppix distribution (=> almost a Debian)
No, that error is irrelevant is only valid for Allegro 4.0.x which is all Debian includes.
I would link AGS against Allegro 4.0.3 stable, but the 4.1.x series is required for AGS I think, and I know for a fact that there is a boatload of bug fixes in the 4.1.x series for Linux.
QuoteI think the opinion of a linux-geek would be welcome... what is the opinion of the coder in charge of the linux-port of AGS? ::)
My opinion is that Allegro sucks on Linux ;D
Oi. This weekend I'll see if I can shave some time off somewhere and generate a special version of AGS. I *really* didn't want go back to creating both a dynamic and static version of Allegro because it means I have to maintain two completely differently compiled versions on my system of both AGS and Allegro itself, but it's looking more and more like I don't have a choice :(
I'll see what I can do, fear not fellow Penguin tamers.
QuoteNope ... AGS Linux runs AGS games, not Sierra games.
You could check out FreeSCI who are developing a linux interpreter for the sierra games.
k. i have FreeSCI, but it dosent run anything but the original QFG, not the VGA ones.
QuoteWhat executable are you running that is throwing a libxml error?
ags-setup. i got it working bt following the directions that Monsieur OUXX gave. after that, i oculd run the ags-setup program, but i was still getting the relocation error: ./ags: undefined symbol: _colorconv_rgb_scale_5x35 error, so i downloaded the 2.60.693 version of AGs, and it seems to work, but when i run KQ1VGA remake, it says that i have the wrong version?? i get the same error with KQ2VGA. any suggestions? btw, i have allegro 4.1.11
Quote from: bobvila2003 on Sat 20/11/2004 00:15:36
k. i have FreeSCI, but it dosent run anything but the original QFG, not the VGA ones.
For ega, cga and older sierra games:
http://www.agidev.com/projects/nagi/
http://sarien.sourceforge.net/
Beggin' your pardon, but freesci does indeed support many of the vga games and more are coming:
http://freesci.linuxgames.com/?page=games
Quoteags-setup. i got it working bt following the directions that Monsieur OUXX gave.
:-X I don't even use libxml in ags-setup, I'm baffled. I'll have to find out what is.
Quoteafter that, i oculd run the ags-setup program, but i was still getting the relocation error: ./ags: undefined symbol: _colorconv_rgb_scale_5x35 error, so i downloaded the 2.60.693 version of AGs, and it seems to work, but when i run KQ1VGA remake, it says that i have the wrong version?? i get the same error with KQ2VGA. any suggestions? btw, i have allegro 4.1.11
Have you tried 4.1.16 from http://alleg.sf.net ?
Alright folks, I've posted yet another updated AGS Binary on the page listed at the top of this thread.
It is statically linked against a special build I created tonight of Allegro just for you folks.
You should no longer need to install Allegro at all. AGS should "just work." (/me crosses fingers)
I've tried this version that you've just posted (2.62.772) : it worked perfectly on my system (but, once again, after my "forced" install of libxml1)
I think that statically linking allegro and libxml1 in all further versions would be no problem, because download size doesn't even reach 1Mb 8)
Great work you've done !
PS : posts I've submitted after this one do only concern people who absolutely want to use previous versions of AGS, and need some pre-setup of allegro, libxml1, etc.
As I mentioned in the previous post there's an updated binary on my website (just uploaded this weekend). So go download the AGS binary again, and try once more. Let me know how it works.
Just some help for those who might use debian packages... I'm using Ubuntu but it is practically the same...
This is what I did to make it work:
1, I downloaded the latest RPM package with Allegro (allegro-4.1.16-1.i386.rpm) from the AGS-Linux site.
2, I used the program "alien" to convert the allegro-4.1.16-1.i386.rpm to allegro-4.1.16-1.i386.deb.
3, Then I installed the resulting .deb file with dpkg -i allegro-4.1.16-1.i386.deb
4, Then I followed the instructions in the FAQ but noticed that I had some problems with the dynamic links, for instance ./apt-setup complained about not being able to find the libxml.so so what I did was to use synaptic to download libxml1.deb file... on debian you could use the program aptitude... something like "aptitude install libxml1"...
5, Now I had the libxml1 package but ./ags-setup could not find it (i used "ldd ./ags-setup") so I needed to run the command "ldconfig"
6, I continued with the rest of the FAQ and the game run without a problem...
Hop this helps...
Quote from: Jezze on Wed 24/11/2004 04:32:05
This is what I did to make it work:
Thanks very much for this very-detailed step-by-step tutrorial.
For people who are afraid to use all these various programs (alien, dpkg, synaptic, aptitude, ldconfig...), I just wanted to mention that I did approximately the same, but:
- instead of dowloading a .rpm package, I downloaded a .tar.gz (that is more homogen with Debian) file from allegro's site --> I only had to unzip it and install it as mentionned in the readme.
- instead of using an utility to download libxml1, il went to their website and downloaded a .tar.gz as well, and installed it the same way.
PS : i think we raised some quite "new" questions about linux-installation of AGS.. maybe 2 or 3 points could be added to the FAQ?
I'm glad you have found a solution to your problems, but:
I could *REALLY* use some feedback on whether or not the binary I just *posted* this past weekend requires Allegro to be installed on your system, and how well it works.
Thanks ;D
I removed my Allegro library and ran ./ags and yes it seems to work... cool =) I actually thought it was strange that Allegro wasn't linked to the binary but didn't reflect enough to come to that conclusion... I guess step 1 to 3 in my step-by-step instruction is unneccessary =)
To clarify: I don't have to have Allegro installed to run AGS!
Alright, since that worked as long as feedback continues to be positive, I'll just leave the binary that way.
Now as far as ags-setup, I guess distributions aren't including libxml1 anymore by default :(
I'll have to start static linking it too. Yay, yet more download size increases...
I'll post an updated binary sometime this week with that.
Debian testing/unstable, kernel 2.6, no allegro installed, works smoothly :)
Thankyou!
Regarding ags-setup, I think that static linking libxml1 too is a good idea, we're talking about affordable download sizes for slow connections (as mine) too.
Greetings and thanks from the whole Shadows of The Empire team, and waiting for the updated binary : )
QuoteI could *REALLY* use some feedback on whether or not the binary I just *posted* this past weekend requires Allegro to be installed on your system, and how well it works.
Debian/testing (kernel 2.4.27), no Allegro.
Works ok after installing the libartsc0 package.
But damn, my 32-bit game is running slow... :(
Quote from: strazer on Tue 30/11/2004 13:51:14
Debian/testing (kernel 2.4.27), no Allegro.
Works ok after installing the libartsc0 package.
Yes, I build it with arts support for KDE users, and ESD support for Gnome users.
QuoteBut damn, my 32-bit game is running slow... :(
Yes, 2D under XFree86 or X.org (the X11 graphical servers for Unix systems) Allegro is usually doing unaccelerated 2D only. Only commercial video drivers for X11 servers have properly accelerated 2D functionality, the built-in free ones and even ATi's and NVidia's are atrociously slow compared to their Windows counterparts. Of course, it doesn't help that the only 2D accelerated standard is no longer supported generally speaking (DGA) and requires root access.
Quote from: EvilTypeGuy on Tue 30/11/2004 15:35:02
...and even ATi's and NVidia's are atrociously slow compared to their Windows counterparts.
It's strange, but I'm running the upcoming Shadows of the Empire Tech Demo under Linux at 60/60 fps, hi-color 640x480... it runs a lot FASTER than under Windows 2000, on the same computer. I'm using the NVidia's driver... mmm, I think that my pc must have some problems under Windows... any ideas?
I've installed recent DirectX... and the card works smoothly with other apps... mumble mumble... the same game, on less powerful machines, runs better (under WinXP, that I hate and will never install :)).
bye,
D.
QuoteYes, I build it with arts support for KDE users, and ESD support for Gnome users.
I'm quite new to Linux, what are arts and esd exactly? Are they sound drivers exclusive to their respective desktop environment?
Btw, I'm using GNOME and installed alsa yesterday.
QuoteYes, 2D under XFree86 or X.org (the X11 graphical servers for Unix systems) Allegro is usually doing unaccelerated 2D only. Only commercial video drivers for X11 servers have properly accelerated 2D functionality, the built-in free ones and even ATi's and NVidia's are atrociously slow compared to their Windows counterparts. Of course, it doesn't help that the only 2D accelerated standard is no longer supported generally speaking (DGA) and requires root access.
Ah, ok, I was using the built-in nv driver but now have the nvidia driver installed. 3D stuff works great, but AGS is still slow.
Suspecting my sound card drivers, I've tried disabling sound, but it's still at 30fps, same as before. Any ideas?
Frankly, I'm amazed it works at all. Great work!
Just for fun I tried running my game with Wine, it works too, but just as slow. ;)
And as far as I am concerned, there's no need to port the editor. It works fine as far as I can see. Any known problems?
Quote from: strazer on Thu 02/12/2004 09:55:52
I'm quite new to Linux, what are arts and esd exactly? Are they sound drivers exclusive to their respective desktop environment?
Btw, I'm using GNOME and installed alsa yesterday.
arts and esd are "sound servers" for lack of a better explanation. They basically perform software sound mixing because most Linux sound card drivers don't support audio output from multiple programs at the same time. They also allow network transparency, meaning you can run programs on a remote box and hear the sound on your local box that you're viewing the remote program on.
QuoteAh, ok, I was using the built-in nv driver but now have the nvidia driver installed. 3D stuff works great, but AGS is still slow. Suspecting my sound card drivers, I've tried disabling sound, but it's still at 30fps, same as before. Any ideas?
As I said, only commercial video drivers have really good 2D acceleration. NVidia and ATi's drivers and the free ones generally do not.
QuoteAnd as far as I am concerned, there's no need to port the editor. It works fine as far as I can see. Any known problems?
Some day, when I have time. Sigh. I'm going to university right now and working, and that leaves very little time for any fun or any side projects...
I always wonder how CJ keeps up with AGS and work :o
well, i had the libxml problem too(error while loading shared libraries: libxml.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
)
Not really looked at it yet, but i'll probably get it to work later...
So, i will report back when it works :)
btw, this program runs on *BSD too?
So i guess i could try it to see if it works on my other NetBSD box ;-)
QuoteAs I said, only commercial video drivers have really good 2D acceleration. NVidia and ATi's drivers and the free ones generally do not.
Just to let you know, I've recompiled the kernel with MTRR support and installed the nvidia module from the source package.
Not sure what exactly the problem was, but now everything runs perfect, even AGP is enabled. :)
I have a demo game here that looks fine when testing it through WINE, using the AGS Linux engine however, the graphics have a blue tint to them. Can anyone using Linux confirm this?
http://www.strazer.net/ags/demo_rts.zip
Quote from: strazer on Tue 11/01/2005 22:50:43
I have a demo game here that looks fine when testing it through WINE, using the AGS Linux engine however, the graphics have a blue tint to them. Can anyone using Linux confirm this?
http://www.strazer.net/ags/demo_rts.zip
Yes, that may happen depending on the colour depth your game is setup for or the colour depth that the X server of the Linux user is using.
I think passing --15bit to the ags executable will usually fix that.
The game is 256 colors, my desktop 24bit. Passing --15bit did not help.
Ah, a 256 colour game. Not surprising then. Allegro under X11 has some rather bizarre colour conversion, whether because of X11 itself or Allegro, I don't know.
Sometimes running XFree86 in 16-bit color depth will allow you to "workaround" this. But, I don't know of any fix for ags itself.
Hi,
Ok, so I am having a lot of problems with the linux binary. It appears that whenever my game puts a character in a new room at specific coordinates, the game crashes saying allgro sent a signal #11 or something like that. I have not found anything like that problem mentioned here before. Any idea what causes this? I am using the lastest version of 2.62 off the site.
Thanks,
Bryan
;) i've read the FAQs and found out only the engine is ported, not the editor.
i've tried the editor in WINE and the splash screen showed, and then an error came up (cant remember what). Umm, has ANYONE managed to get the editor to work in linux in any way?
i'm gonna check out your port of the engine and see how well it works. i really want to make a game with good linux compatability - as i'm slowly moving away from windows into it.
I run Debian/testing and the editor and even games work with WINE (20050310-1.1).
Edit:
I just haven't managed to get keyboard input working in games (in WINE that is).
Here (http://www.strazer.net/ags/wineconfig.txt) is my WINE config file if you're interested.
Quote from: strazer on Wed 30/03/2005 21:12:06
I run Debian/testing and the editor and even games work with WINE (20050310-1.1).
Edit:
I just haven't managed to get keyboard input working in games (in WINE that is).
Here is my WINE config file if you're interested.
hmm. how do you find out the version of wine you have? and where exactly do i put this config file (i'm not in linux at the moment so i can't try out stuff yet :( i've downloaded your config file to my flash drive ready though ;)
Quote from: Dan2552 on Mon 04/04/2005 20:13:27how do you find out the version of wine you have?
Just open a terminal and type
wine --version
Quote from: Dan2552 on Mon 04/04/2005 20:13:27and where exactly do i put this config file
The config file's original filename is just "config" and it resides in the user's home directory under ".wine", so "~/.wine/config". If you have WINE installed, there should already be one there. Remember to back it up first!
And you obviously have to modify my config file to the correct paths and mount points for your system.
:o wine must've screwed up on their newer version, i tried a 2004 version included with my crossover office and AGS editor seems to run fine.
Regarding keyboard input in games, I've found this bug entry in WineHQ's bug tracker: http://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=2811
Somewhere else I read it could be related to the Allegro library which AGS uses.
Interesting -- but still, that's why we have the linux engine, to avoid problems like that :)