AGS v2.7 Final: Yet Another Edition

Started by Pumaman, Sat 13/11/2004 21:02:00

Previous topic - Next topic

Pumaman

Well basically, I'm happy to add icons to any of the main menu options if people come up with suitable ones.

Pau

Quote from: Snarky on Mon 06/12/2004 22:18:40
Sweet! AGS is becoming quite the powerful programming language...
That make me think if embedding javascript* would bring more or less problems than extending the AGS script with objects and pointers.

I'm not saying that's a better option nor trying anyone how things should be made. I just have curiousity if there are technical, license, or personal  reasons that makes the adoption of a general script language a worse option.

*I've put the example of javascript because it's very similar to the idea of OO that has been explained in this thread and has similar syntax to AGS script (as far as I know because I'm not a javascript expert).
paused -- get the startup menu creator (version 1.1) for AGS games. (Use save target as..)

Pumaman

Generally, using an existing script engine isn't a good idea. Early versions of AGS did so, but in the end I had to write my own.

Some reasons are:
* most script languages are interpreted rather than compiled, which makes them slow
* most languages do not provide a means to save the script state to disk (for a Save Game feature)
* most script languages are not cross-platform
* most script languages are either not powerful enough, or are too confusing, to use as a game script language
* most don't integrate with the game engine in the way that AGS works best

Therefore, using an existing scripting engine is not really viable. However, AGS does attempt to emulate the syntax of C (and therefore also Java, C#, etc) as closely as possible so that people already familiar with these languages can pick it up easily.

Pau

Ok, thanks for your explanation. And thanks for the great effort to move AGS towards OO in order to make our scripting easier.