AGS or Ren'Py for Point-and-Click/Visual Novel Hybrid?

Started by imagazzell, Thu 21/03/2024 00:58:57

Previous topic - Next topic

imagazzell

Hi guys,

I'm interested in making a game with elements of both point-and-click adventure and visual novel games (somewhat Phoenix Wright-esque), and would appreciate feedback from those familiar with both programs whether I would be better served using AGS or Ren'Py to make it.

I've spent the last few years getting to know how to use AGS quite well, whereas I have no prior experience with Ren'Py or the Python programming language, which I'm not entirely against learning if it'd be more beneficial in the long-run.

Elements that I'll want in the game and other factors to consider:

1. HD resolution, which I know AGS can manage, but I believe is the native choice for Ren'Py.
2. Still character images during conversations with the text in an overlay band near the bottom, as seen in most visual novels.
3. Branching dialogue trees. I know these well in AGS, but am not sure if Ren'Py only allows singular-path dialogue.
4. Speech audio. Again, I am experienced with this in AGS, and I believe Ren'Py can do it too, though I don't know how easily.
5. An inventory system with items that can be picked up from the background.
6. Interactive background hotspots, which inventory items can be used on. Not sure if such functionality exists in Ren'Py.
7. Background music that changes with each room/background. Pretty sure this should be as easy to do in Ren'Py as it is in AGS.
8. If it turns out well enough, I'd like to release it on Steam and (if possible) get it ported to console(s) via a company like Ratalaika, who appears to port both AGS and Ren'Py games, but I'm not sure if one engine is easier/more compatible to port than the other.

Based on these points (and any others I may not have considered), I'd appreciate any input on how might be best to proceed. Thanks!
Music Composing Services: https://youtu.be/BbT3kfhgA4E

eri0o