First game advice - Is a demo enough to prove a projects value?

Started by Myinah, Fri 10/05/2013 15:26:18

Previous topic - Next topic

Myinah

Hi Guys

I'm new to AGS but have written a full video game script that I want to get on and make, but I'm not 100% sure where to begin. Ideally I want the game to be commercial and professional looking so that I can build up a portfolio of work and one day sell the games I write. I have had some success with creative copy work in the past and I'm hoping that my puzzles will good enough that I can make some sort of career out of this. Of course plenty of us are inspired by independent studios that get themselves up and running and I guess this is my ultimate goal. Maybe it sounds silly, but I can only work from home because of my health and this is what I want to be doing really. I figure if I aim as high as I can I'll at least get close to where I want to be and so I'm starting from the bottom now of the ladder now :smiley:

I did have a great artist ready to work on the game with me but they have now had to drop out due to their increasing work load and family commitments. Now I'm in the position where, like many others, I want to get a talented artist on board (someone with similar goals and who believes in the project), but because I haven't proven myself yet by making a game of course I can't expect people to automatically take me seriously.

What would those of you who are experienced do in my position? Would you make the game with programmer art and then put up a recruitment ad? If so would you make a demo or a full game? Will a demo be enough? My game will be a full length one, the script isn't short by any means.

Of course I would love to just hire an artist, but its not going to be financially possible for me at this time. I know artists are few and far between but to any artists reading, what inspires you to work on a project?