Paper Mario-style diagonal movement

Started by celadonk, Sat 27/04/2024 20:36:00

Previous topic - Next topic

celadonk

Hello! I'm new to AGS and I'm excited to start making a game.

One of the things I'd love to do is Paper Mario-type diagonal movement. I've searched around here for a method of accomplishing this, and although I've found a couple of things that are close (isometric stuff), nothing is exactly right.

What I'd like is for characters to have free movement-- being able to walk to any point in any direction-- but for their animations to only be diagonal. In other words, instead of characters having four orthogonal facings (up, down, left, and right), they each have four DIAGONAL facings (ul/ur/dl/dr).

I was able to accomplish this in Godot before I decided that AGS may be better for what I want to do. Below is a GIF of how that looked.

I'd love to extend this behavior to all characters, too, which leads into a broader question of how does one do that? I know how to (generally) edit the behavior of one character but I'd like to make all characters move a certain way without having to manually do each one.

Thanks!

celadonk

Snarky

This is pretty easy to do as long as the character always walks in a straight line towards where you click, but if you want pathfinding (where it figures out detours around obstacles), I don't think AGS really supports this as of now.

The straightforward approach is to calculate which direction your character is walking (using the origin and destination coordinates and calculating the angle by taking arctan((y1-y0)/(x1-x0))), and setting the correct loop based on that.

celadonk

Sorry, where/in what file do I do that calculation? Apologies, I just started with AGS yesterday. I've read through all the tutorials but am struggling a bit with going past default capabilities.

Snarky