Text Box question [solved]

Started by DrewCCU, Wed 04/08/2010 04:41:37

Previous topic - Next topic

DrewCCU

I realize there may be several ways to do what i'm about to ask but seeing as how i've never used the text box option before i wanted to ask around for what may be the best solution so i don't end up with any bugs.  So let me go ahead and ask the question so you get the idea:

I have a GUI text box on a gui (obviously) and what i would like to be able to do is something like this:

I want the player to type in a number (from 1-100) and then i want that number to be converted to an integer so that AGS can use it in a mathematical equation in the script.
i.e. something like:  
Code: ags

int VAR = txtUserInput.Text;

Now the problems i'm foreseeing are things like what if the player types in numbers that are above 100 or below 1?  Or even worst, what if they type in letters?  My ideal situation is that if they type in something that is not 1-100 i want to display a message that says something like "Input only a value between 1 & 100." or something like that.

Any suggestions?  
"So much of what we do is ephemeral and quickly forgotten, even by ourselves, so it's gratifying to have something you have done linger in people's memories."
-John Williams

Gilbert

First,

int VAR = txtUserInput.Text;

doesn't work, as this will cause a type-mismatch error.

You need to convert the String to an integer with functions like say, String.AsInt.

To check whether there are "illegal" characters just check each character of the string. So you may make some function like (untested):

function CheckConvertText(String tempstr){
  int ii=0;
  while (ii<tempstr.Length){
    if (tempstr.Chars[ii]<'0'||tempstr.Chars[ii]>'9') return -1;  //"illegal" character
    ii++;
  }
  int value=tempstr.AsInt;
  if (value>=1||value<=100) return value;
  else return -1;
}

Then when you want to check for the validity of the textbox just do womething like: