Adventure Game Studio

AGS Support => Beginners' Technical Questions => Topic started by: rubbedlung on Sun 03/03/2013 01:35:11

Title: Using Snow/Rain plugin
Post by: rubbedlung on Sun 03/03/2013 01:35:11
If I could get this to work I will be using this plugin alot within the game. However, I read that it wouldnt work with the 800X600 setup. Does anyone know how to get this to work correctly. Like maybe just a quick strip of code that I could get to make it function? Any info would be appreciated.

DR
Title: Re: Using Snow/Rain plugin
Post by: Slasher on Sun 03/03/2013 05:00:36
As far as I am aware it does not work with 800 x 600.

Unless of course there has been an updated version that supports that resolution.
Title: Re: Using Snow/Rain plugin
Post by: rubbedlung on Sun 03/03/2013 06:53:33
Do you know if the rain/snow "module" is easy to use? And if so do you have any tips?
Title: Re: Using Snow/Rain plugin
Post by: Slasher on Sun 03/03/2013 08:14:45
I have used the snow/rain plugin in the past (version 2.02).

Import the plugin into AGS first (plugin should be in main AGS folder. Open plugin's tree mode and right click to select and use it.)

Make sure you create a view(s) with image(s) for your snow/rain.

This I believe is what I had (Room Load):

Code (AGS) Select

srSetSnowDriftRange(10, 50);
srSetSnowDriftSpeed(10, 50);
srSetSnowFallSpeed(50, 200);
srChangeSnowAmount(100);
srSetSnowBaseline(150, 200);
srSetSnowTransparency(50, 60);
srSetSnowDefaultView(4, 0); // This would of course be the view you have made for your snow/rain (View 4 Loop 0 in this case.)
srSetSnowWindSpeed(-35);
srSetSnowAmount(400);


This stops the plugin:

Code (AGS) Select

srChangeSnowAmount(0);
srSetSnowAmount(0);


Amend all numbers to customise. What the Variables do speak for themselves.

Tip: Keep a back-up-copy of original code and just experiment until you are happy with the result.

Give a try.