Monster Workshop - full sketch due tonight (Monday)!

Started by Andail, Sun 05/05/2013 17:24:15

Previous topic - Next topic

Andail

Yeah, Kasander, it's amazing to see Frazetta's perfectly harmonious compositions. That along with the dynamic poses of his figures are just eyecandy. I had books of Frazetta which I studied before there was even an internet, but I didn't understand until almost recently how much he worked with geometry.

Cerno

Just a short comment on Misj''s comments:
First of all, awesome and invaluable input, kudos!

Second, Miguel, what I really like about your initial design is the similarity to an Oni from Japanese mythology, especially like the ones depicted in Onikirimaru by Kei Kusunoki (example).  I'm not sure that this was intended, since you were going for a reptile, but I like the look a lot.
123  Currently working on: Sibun - Shadow of the Septemplicon

Ghost

Week 1, Step 2 - Roughs
So, I'll defenitely go for a "spliced human", but I want more than just a "Fly" copy. Why settle for one insect when you can mash up everything? So far I got a rough pose; now to research what makes a nice mash.

- Zombie-gait pose is always nice.
- You can say about Fly 2 what you like, the monster *was* awesome.
- The telepod's design in the movie is based on director Cronenberg's car's cylinders. The guy's a show-off.
- Also a painful testimony to the fact that I still can't draw a circle on my tablet.

waheela

Update! (Click here to go to the original post.)

Week 1, Step 2: Thumbnails (May 9, 2013)
After looking through a bunch of reference images, I made 5 thumbnails in order to explore
the composition of my piece. I always force myself to do 3-5 thumbnails before starting a pic,
even if I already have a strong idea on what I'm going to do. It's a challenge to go against my
preconceived notions for a piece, but sometimes, I'm able to come up with a more dynamic composition.