Adventure Game Studio

AGS Support => Advanced Technical Forum => Topic started by: Radiant on Mon 31/01/2005 12:30:03

Title: Displaying single dialog option (IMPLEMENTED)
Post by: Radiant on Mon 31/01/2005 12:30:03
If, in a dialog, only a single option is enabled, AGS will automatically trigger that option without user interaction.
By contrast, LucasFilm games still display the dialog menu, even if only a single option is possible.
It would be nice to have a SetGameParameter or something similar that switches between these two behaviors.
Title: Re: Dialogs (Tiny feature request)
Post by: Scorpiorus on Mon 31/01/2005 13:19:34
Yeah, although it seems reasonable to choose the last available option automatically, sometimes it may also be useful to let the player do it. For example, when clicking on a person with a talk cursor should always bring up a list of options for consistency throughout the game, and thus pointing out that it's choosing a certain option that makes you advancing further in a game.
Title: Re: Dialogs (Tiny feature request)
Post by: TheMagician on Mon 31/01/2005 14:46:33
@ Radiant:
Did you just read my post in the beginners technical forum?  ;)

Anyhow, I too think it would be a good thing to implement.
I can't really explain why I'd like it. Perhaps it's a phsychological thing ... first you have to click on something ... then the character says it  .... action - reaction  :)
Title: Re: Dialogs (Tiny feature request)
Post by: Radiant on Mon 31/01/2005 15:25:44
Magician -> no, I'm a psychic :)
Title: Re: Dialogs (Tiny feature request)
Post by: SSH on Mon 31/01/2005 16:05:33
Well, of course the whole dialog system needs a generalisation to allow custom interfaces
Title: Re: Dialogs (Tiny feature request)
Post by: Pumaman on Mon 31/01/2005 19:44:57
I understand the request, but personally as a player I'm kind of against it. If there are no new things I can say to a character and the only thing available is "Goodbye", I'd much rather they said it automatically so I can skip past quicker.

But it's fair enough to allow you discretion over this as a game designer, so I'll see about adding some sort of horrid game.auto_choose_dialog_option type variable to allow you to change it.

SSH: yeah but this is different, because in this case the dialog options aren't even displayed so a custom handler wouldn't get the chance to draw them either.
Title: Re: Dialogs (Tiny feature request)
Post by: SSH on Tue 01/02/2005 11:04:48
Quote from: Pumaman on Mon 31/01/2005 19:44:57
SSH: yeah but this is different, because in this case the dialog options aren't even displayed so a custom handler wouldn't get the chance to draw them either.


Well, I envisioned something like:



int i=0; int n=0;
while (i < dialog[topic].optioncount) {
  if (dialog[topic].option.Enabled) {
    dialoggui.control[n].AsLabel.SetText(dailog[topic].option.Name);
    n=n+1;
  }
  if (n > MAX_DISPLAYED_OPTIONS) { // do some scrolling thing }
  i = i+ 1;
}
if (n==1 && auto_dchoose_only_dialog_option) {

}


So it would be up to the scripter whether they auto-chose the only option...
Title: Re: Dialogs (Tiny feature request)
Post by: Scorpiorus on Tue 01/02/2005 14:39:28
Quote from: Pumaman on Mon 31/01/2005 19:44:57I understand the request, but personally as a player I'm kind of against it. If there are no new things I can say to a character and the only thing available is "Goodbye", I'd much rather they said it automatically so I can skip past quicker.
Yeah, choosing of the last available option makes sence when it's something different than a simple "goodbye" (especially when the "say" option isn't ticked for a reason). There seem to be a nice workaround (http://www.adventuregamestudio.co.uk/yabb/index.php?topic=18955.0) but I'd like to know if it's ok to do that way; I mean, having a blank option or is it something that can lead to errors? It can also be used for other purposes like having a default response when there are no options left, etc.
Title: Re: Dialogs (Tiny feature request)
Post by: Pumaman on Tue 01/02/2005 20:17:35
Yep, adding a blank dialog option will make it unclickable and is a good workaround :)
Title: Re: Dialogs (Tiny feature request)
Post by: simulacra on Mon 07/02/2005 17:12:42
I agree with this suggestion. I am working on a first-person game where the main character's lines aren't displayed on screen after being clicked and have had some problems with the game engine automatically selecting a line that the player never sees.

If blank options are a workaround, that would be great!
Title: Re: Dialogs (Tiny feature request)
Post by: strazer on Mon 07/02/2005 17:31:36
Quote from: Pumaman on Sat 13/11/2004 21:02:00
Changes from Beta 15 to Beta 16:
* Added game.show_single_dialog_option to specify that the dialog option should be displayed, even if only one is available.