Adventure Game Studio | Forums

AGS Support => Modules & Plugins => Topic started by: Kweepa on 19 Jun 2006, 21:40

Title: MODULE: Pull Down Menus v1.3
Post by: Kweepa on 19 Jun 2006, 21:40
Pull Down Menus

Example:
(http://www.kweepa.com/step/ags/tech/PullDownMenus.png)

Features:
* mac-style menus (drag and release)
* add menus
* add items to menus
* get callbacks from items
* enable and disable items
* toggle items
* show, hide, move and scale the menu bar
* optional icons and right-side text (eg shortcuts) for items
* selection flash
* optional borders and background images

Module for AGS 2.72:
http://www.kweepa.com/step/ags/tech/PullDownMenusModule.zip (http://www.kweepa.com/step/ags/tech/PullDownMenusModule.zip)
Module for AGS 2.71:
http://www.kweepa.com/step/ags/tech/PullDownMenusModule271.zip (http://www.kweepa.com/step/ags/tech/PullDownMenusModule271.zip)

Demo game:
http://www.kweepa.com/step/ags/tech/PullDownMenusTest.zip (http://www.kweepa.com/step/ags/tech/PullDownMenusTest.zip)
Title: Re: MODULE: Pull Down Menus v1.3
Post by: Akumayo on 20 Jun 2006, 03:59
Amazing stuff Steve.  Really good.  This could really cut down on some of the buttons on my GUI's.
Title: Re: MODULE: Pull Down Menus v1.3
Post by: jasonjkay on 20 Jun 2006, 11:18
Sounds great, I'll add it to my site.
Title: Re: MODULE: Pull Down Menus v1.3
Post by: NsMn on 31 Oct 2009, 13:55
I know I'm bringing up a very old thread, but is there actually any readme for this module?
Title: Re: MODULE: Pull Down Menus v1.3
Post by: Kweepa on 31 Oct 2009, 19:50
Unfortunately not.
There is a demo game though, with source.
As I recall it's pretty self-explanatory.

Let me know if there's something you can't do. (Or if it doesn't work with 3.0 for some reason.)
Title: Re: MODULE: Pull Down Menus v1.3
Post by: Joseph DiPerla on 02 Nov 2009, 00:52
I havent tried it yet, but the last edit was in 2007. Would this Module still work with the current versions of AGS?
Title: Re: MODULE: Pull Down Menus v1.3
Post by: Kweepa on 03 Nov 2009, 02:19
Tested and working with 3.2. You need to uncheck "Enforce Object-Based Scripting" in General settings.
Title: Re: MODULE: Pull Down Menus v1.3
Post by: Yuri Patrick on 18 Sep 2012, 15:22
Alright. My prior post on this topic disappeared when the forums server crashed the other day.

I'm having trouble with the pull down menus code. I followed the example as best I could and defined my whole menu layout in the repeat_always function just like the demo. Then I wrote the character1_a function just like in the demo, but whenever I click on a menu item, it flashes like it's taking my click and then nothing happens. :(

Anyone have any clue what I might have done wrong? Please help.
Title: Re: MODULE: Pull Down Menus v1.3
Post by: Yuri Patrick on 19 Sep 2012, 16:23
Well, it's nice to know that I can still solve my own coding problems. On occasion. ;)

I had all the right code in all the right places, but I forgot to import cMenuCallback and then reference the interaction function char1_a through him. Heh. Silly me.

Hopefully this helps someone else in the future. :)