Adventure Game Studio | Forums

AGS Development => Editor Development => Topic started by: mitlark on 28 Feb 2014, 02:38

Title: Bug report
Post by: mitlark on 28 Feb 2014, 02:38
This is not a bug, but here it comes.

This is an error I've found a lot in the forum this day, as I was trying to resolve it. I'm pretty sure you've heard of it in German, and other languages that aren't English (that sole fact led me to some conclusions, but sadly I didn't got to a solution).
Quote
---------------------------
Error
---------------------------
An unexpected error occurred trying to start up the AGS Editor. Please consult the details below and post the error to the AGS Technical Forum.

System.IO.FileLoadException: No se puede cargar el archivo o ensamblado 'AGS.Native, Version=0.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null' ni una de sus dependencias. No se pudo iniciar la aplicación porque su configuración es incorrecta. Reinstalar la aplicación puede solucionar el problema. (Excepción de HRESULT: 0x800736B1)

Nombre de archivo: 'AGS.Native, Version=0.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null' ---> System.Runtime.InteropServices.COMExcep tion (0x800736B1): No se pudo iniciar la aplicación porque su configuración es incorrecta. Reinstalar la aplicación puede solucionar el problema. (Excepción de HRESULT: 0x800736B1)

   en AGS.Editor.NativeProxy..ctor()
   en AGS.Editor.ApplicationController..ctor()
   en AGS.Editor.Program.startupTimer_Tick(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   en System.Windows.Forms.Timer.OnTick(EventArgs e)
   en System.Windows.Forms.Timer.TimerNativeW indow.WndProc(Message& m)
   en System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callb ack(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)
---------------------------
Aceptar   
---------------------------
The solutions I've heard are that maybe the editor is missing some files, however that doesn't seems to be the case, or not in the regular way. AGS.Native.dll is there, and I actually made AGS3.3.0 run by changing the Native dll by the one from AGS3.2.1 (obviously it "exploded" when I tried to compile a game but I knew it was going to).

Yesterday it was working fine, but today I had an issue and had to reinstall WindowsXP (it needed some cleaning after all, it was such a mess ahahaha!).
I have .NET from 1.0 to 4.0 installed (both 4.0 to be precise). But it seems that there is something I'm missing at my system. So, my question is, if there is other dependency the editor uses. Something like Microsoft VisualC/++ libraries (2008, 2010...).

By now, I've taken my game back to 3.2.1, because it works fine (with some effort I've manually managed to migrate). I can't stand a day without AGS <3. But if anyone knows something of this issue, please share your thoughts.

Thanks.
Title: Re: Bug report
Post by: Crimson Wizard on 28 Feb 2014, 07:14
@mitlark, maybe this will help:
http://www.adventuregamestudio.co.uk/forums/index.php?topic=47966.msg636479217#msg636479217

Also, wrong forum section :), this one is for reporting website bugs.
Title: Re: Bug report
Post by: mitlark on 28 Feb 2014, 16:50
(http://puu.sh/7dGxo.gif) Whoops, sorry about the wrong section thing.

But, YEAH! Now it works! I actually tried installing a VCRedist I had somewhere in my PC, but it was for the 2010 binaries. Didn't wanted to start trying every distro because there are hundreds. Actually, not even 10, but... anyway.

So yeah! Now I can use the 3.3.0, and try the AGS3.4.0 too =D!. Thanks a bunch!
Title: Re: Bug report
Post by: Billbis on 05 Mar 2014, 20:29
Not sure where to post this, so I'll try here. Should I have put this on the Bug and Suggestion Tracker instead ?
I am encountering a very serious bug with AGS 3.3.0 (Build 3.3.0.1156). Can someone try to reproduce it to see if it comes from my configuration (win7 64) ?
1) Open AGS editor.
2) Create a new game, default template
3) Create a new script
4) Open the header
5) Start writing in line 2:
Code: Adventure Game Studio
  1. #define
6) The moment you finish writing:
Quote from: Unhandled error
Error: L'index se trouve en dehors des limites du tableau.
Version: AGS 3.3.0.1156

System.IndexOutOfRangeException: L'index se trouve en dehors des limites du tableau.
   à  AGS.Editor.AutoComplete.ProcessPreProce ssorDirective(List`1 defines, FastString& script, AutoCompleteParserState state)
   à  AGS.Editor.AutoComplete.ConstructCache(Script scriptToCache, Boolean isBackgroundThread)
   à  AGS.Editor.ScriptEditor.scintilla_OnBef oreShowingAutoComplete(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   à  AGS.Editor.ScintillaWrapper.ShowAutoCom plete(Int32 charsTyped, String autoCompleteList)
   à  AGS.Editor.ScintillaWrapper.ShowAutoCom pleteIfAppropriate(Int32 minimumLength)
   à  AGS.Editor.ScintillaWrapper.OnUpdateUI(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   à  Scintilla.ScintillaControl.DispatchScin tillaEvent(SCNotification notification)
   à  Scintilla.ScintillaControl.WndProc(Message& m)
   à  System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNat iveWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
   à  System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNat iveWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   à  System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callb ack(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)
Quote from: save changes
---------------------------
Adventure Game Studio
---------------------------
A serious error occurred and the AGS Editor may now be in an unstable state. You are STRONGLY ADVISED to shut down the editor and restart it. Before saving your work, make a backup copy of your game folder in case any data has been corrupted.



Error: System.IndexOutOfRangeException: L'index se trouve en dehors des limites du tableau.

   à  AGS.Editor.AutoComplete.ProcessPreProce ssorDirective(List`1 defines, FastString& script, AutoCompleteParserState state)

   à  AGS.Editor.AutoComplete.ConstructCache(Script scriptToCache, Boolean isBackgroundThread)

   à  AGS.Editor.ScriptEditor.scintilla_OnBef oreShowingAutoComplete(Object sender, EventArgs e)

   à  AGS.Editor.ScintillaWrapper.ShowAutoCom plete(Int32 charsTyped, String autoCompleteList)

   à  AGS.Editor.ScintillaWrapper.ShowAutoCom pleteIfAppropriate(Int32 minimumLength)

   à  AGS.Editor.ScintillaWrapper.OnUpdateUI(Object sender, EventArgs e)

   à  Scintilla.ScintillaControl.DispatchScin tillaEvent(SCNotification notification)

   à  Scintilla.ScintillaControl.WndProc(Message& m)

   à  System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNat iveWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)

   à  System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNat iveWindow.WndProc(Message& m)

   à  System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callb ack(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)
---------------------------
OK   
---------------------------
And when you close the game without saving:
Quote
---------------------------
Save changes?
---------------------------
Files have been added, removed or renamed. If you don't save the game now, you may not be able to successfully open this game next time. Do you want to save your changes?
---------------------------
Oui   Non   
---------------------------
If you click on yes, it can corrupt your game file. If you click on no, it seems to be ok.
Title: Re: Bug report
Post by: Atavismus on 05 Mar 2014, 22:00
Billbis is right: I have the same problem (note I use the english version).
Title: Re: Bug report
Post by: Crimson Wizard on 05 Mar 2014, 22:21
This bug originates from earlier versions of AGS, but it reproduces differently in 3.2.1:
1. Do same steps as above.
2. After typing "#define" save the script header.
3. Same error occurs.

This happens immediately now because the intellisense cache is updated by timer rather than by some events.

@tzachs, I think it will be very easy to fix: the actual problem is that the program tries to get first character from the empty string at AGS.Editor/AutoComplete.cs, function ProcessPreProcessorDirective(), line 393. A simple check for string being null or empty will suffice IMO. But I leve it for you in case I miss anything else.
E: I suggest fixing in "master", because it is a hotfix (master may be merged to 3.3.1 later). This way the hotfixed version may be released without 3.3.1 additions.

TEMPORARY WORKAROUND:
1. Type "efine YOUR-MACRO-NAME".
2. Add "#d".
Title: Re: Bug report
Post by: Billbis on 05 Mar 2014, 22:33
Hey, many thanks for the tip. ;-D
Title: Re: Bug report
Post by: tzachs on 09 Mar 2014, 20:24
Yes, easy fix, fixed in master.
Title: Re: Bug report
Post by: Adeel on 09 Mar 2014, 23:52
The solutions I've heard are that maybe the editor is missing some files, however that doesn't seems to be the case, or not in the regular way. AGS.Native.dll is there, and I actually made AGS3.3.0 run by changing the Native dll by the one from AGS3.2.1 (obviously it "exploded" when I tried to compile a game but I knew it was going to).

I'm quite surprised that you followed the same path which I did. (http://www.adventuregamestudio.co.uk/forums/index.php?topic=47966.msg636479202#msg636479202) Great minds think alike. Don't they? :=