Adventure Game Studio | Forums

AGS Development => Site & Forum Reports => Topic started by: Stupot on 31 Jul 2018, 14:54

Title: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: Stupot on 31 Jul 2018, 14:54
Someone on the Facebook group is trying to register on the forums but is having an issue:

“Hi! I have problems On Signing Up On the Forums, It seems I have the Right Answer on Registration Quiz but It always give me an Error Message saying I have one wrong Answer even though my answer is correct. Can you please help me? I wanna join the AGS Community Forum because I have lots of questions when It comes to Scripting and Such.”

Any idea what could be the problem? Other than maybe he is getting one of the Qs wrong
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: Cassiebsg on 31 Jul 2018, 14:59
That would be my guess too.
Otherwise there's something broken with the registration.

Guess you could go thru the answers with said person and verify that he indeed has the right answers to all questions? ;)
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: AGA on 31 Jul 2018, 17:22
I had this same problem a few months ago, and the guy was insistent he had all the questions correct.  He didn't...  All I can suggest is someone guides him through the process if he's really that stuck.
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: Chicky on 08 Nov 2018, 18:54
Hey, recently we've had a few people come to the discord saying they're having issues with registration on the forums, most mentioning an error when singing up.

Quote
Hi, I'm having trouble registering for the AGS forum.
I answer the questions  ok, but when try and register I just get a message saying "An error has occurred"

Is this a known issue? We've had 4 or 5 reports and that's just the folk who thought to follow it up on Discord.
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: Stupot on 30 Nov 2018, 08:11
More people are having trouble.

I tried the quiz and it was fine, so anyone getting errors at that point is clearly entering the wrong answers. However, some people do get past the quiz but the registration form fails. I tried this myself and it’s true. I could[n’t] make a new account. My guess is that it’s a bug in either the captcha or human checker below it.
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: Snarky on 30 Nov 2018, 09:21
Assuming Stupot means he couldn't make a new account, I second that: I get past the quiz (which, BTW, is slightly outdated on a couple of points) and to the point where I can register, but once you actually try to sign up it gives an error. I also see from the membership records that we haven't had anyone sign up for the last week (there's usually one every other day), so it definitely appears to be broken.
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: AGA on 02 Dec 2018, 22:12
I'm working on it.  Unfortunately the forums have been going for so long, and been upgraded so many times, things are a bit of a mess.  I'm trying to clean things up, but it might take a few days!
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: AGA on 10 Dec 2018, 22:32
Okay, so I've made quite a lot of changes to the forums in the background, to fix the registration, plus various issues people probably never even noticed.  Please do let me know of anything that's missing, or weird looking, though.
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: Crimson Wizard on 10 Dec 2018, 23:40
test?


Oh, okay, I can finally post something.


The "Bug and suggestion tracker" link is missing by the way, is that intentional?
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: Khris on 11 Dec 2018, 00:57
When I post code, I have to include =ags again, and the linebreaks are discarded.
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: morganw on 11 Dec 2018, 13:25
People have asked me to post this, since they are having trouble posting anything (the message body was NOT empty):
(http://ags.pics/v2A5.png)
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: Crimson Wizard on 11 Dec 2018, 13:36
I had this ^ at first, but now I can post. There are some glitches still which are not easy to describe.
Like recently I posted a link directly in the message, then decided to replace it with another. When I edited my post the text was correct, but hovering over the link in the post displayed previous address... It refused to link correctly until I manually did [ url = xxx ] text [ / url ]
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: Cassiebsg on 11 Dec 2018, 14:32
Just testing to see if I can post

Edit: Seems to work just fine for me... trying edit to make sure that works too.
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: morganw on 11 Dec 2018, 14:46
One of people who cannot post, also cannot login without getting this:

(http://ags.pics/vLJa.png)

They can refresh the page and get logged in (after seeing this message), but the message appears on every login.
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: Khris on 11 Dec 2018, 16:32
The very first thing people should do is clear the entire cache for adventuregamestudio.co.uk
This should solve some of the issues.
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: Snarky on 11 Dec 2018, 17:28
One of people who cannot post, also cannot login without getting this:

(http://ags.pics/vLJa.png)

They can refresh the page and get logged in (after seeing this message), but the message appears on every login.

I've been getting this page every time I log in for months, if not years.
Ooh, quoting a post with an image, the picture now appears in the editor (along with some HTML linebreak tags)! Wonder if it will post correctly?
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: morganw on 11 Dec 2018, 17:35
I manually added the line breaks, just to clarify where those came from.
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: Sinitrena on 11 Dec 2018, 19:49
I also get the "The message body has been left empty" message (on Firefox (63.0.3), posting with Internet Explorer now) and the bold, italic, URL and so on stuff is missing for me on both Firefox and Internet Explorer. I only have the smilies.
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: Snarky on 11 Dec 2018, 21:01
There also seems to be a serious influx of spammers, so presumably registration has eased up...
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: AGA on 11 Dec 2018, 21:17
Unfortunately the WYSYWIG editor built in to SMF is quite unreliable.  I reenabled it because of a bug that was stopping smileys from working in the alternative we used to use.  However, at this rate it looks like having no clickable smileys is preferable to so many other things not working.
Sinitrena at least, the level of WYSYWIGness you get is a setting in your user profile.  There you can choose whether to display smileys, text options, etc etc.  Try changing that setting, see if it helps?
Also the spam is caused by my removing a plugin that was previously used explicitly to prevent spam.  I thought it might have been causing the registration issue, so was going to try running without it for a while.  Will have to renable it!
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: C.L.I.C.K. on 11 Dec 2018, 23:53
How does this even work? Spammers found this site who knows how long ago, and kept trying despite it not working? So that once it DID work they got through?  :shocked:
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: Crimson Wizard on 12 Dec 2018, 09:45
Very often when I try to quote a post, a big orange "Loading..." message appears on top of the page, and it remains like that indefinitely. This happened before on some occasions, but now it happens almost all the time.
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: Khris on 12 Dec 2018, 09:51
How does this even work? Spammers found this site who knows how long ago, and kept trying despite it not working? So that once it DID work they got through?  :shocked:
It's not a person, it's bots.

CW: you should be getting error messages in the browser console. Troubleshooting issues like that is usually straightforward, if you know the error message.
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: cat on 12 Dec 2018, 10:03
Test

Edit: Wow, I tried Firefox from home, from the phone and from work, Chrome from work and now IE from work. The only browser where I was able to post was IE11 8-0 ??? :-X
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: Crimson Wizard on 12 Dec 2018, 10:09
Right, so the error I am getting when trying to quote someone:


Code: [Select]

editor.js?fin20:625 Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'pasteHTML' of null
    at smc_Editor.insertText (editor.js?fin20:625)
    at QuickReply.onQuoteReceived (topic.js:170)
    at XMLHttpRequest.oMyDoc.onreadystatechange (script.js?fin20:88)
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: Gilbert on 12 Dec 2018, 10:24
IE11
I never tried other browsers, but the forums still work with the latest version of Opera that is still using the Presto engine (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Presto_(browser_engine)) (the move to using Chrome's engine made me stop updating it), maybe for some reasons the current forum software favours more towards outdated old classic browsers?
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: AGA on 12 Dec 2018, 10:47
SMF has built in hacks for Opera, among other browsers. It's very old software, from the days before web compatibility was as (relatively) standardised as it is today. And unfortunately it's the best solution for our requirements, so not easily replaced.


I'll try changing the input method used tonight.
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: Sinitrena on 12 Dec 2018, 16:18
Sinitrena at least, the level of WYSYWIGness you get is a setting in your user profile.  There you can choose whether to display smileys, text options, etc etc.  Try changing that setting, see if it helps?

Thanks for the tip, but unfortunately, it doesn't. I tried several settings but at most I managed to turn off smilys as well. That's my current Setting:

(https://www.img-load.de/images/2018/12/12/Settings.png)

Those are the relevant options, aren't they? And that should show all buttons? (Just to make sure I didn't miss an option.)

That's what the Quick Reply at the bottom of the page Looks like:
(https://www.img-load.de/images/2018/12/12/Quick.png)

And that's the one when I use the Reply button:
(https://www.img-load.de/images/2018/12/12/Reply.png)
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: AGA on 12 Dec 2018, 16:41
What about now?  I switched you to use the other display theme (AGS Compact).  I'm wondering if that could be related somehow, since I use AGS Compact and have no problems with the post editor...
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: Sinitrena on 12 Dec 2018, 18:15
They are back! They look different then what I'm used to but who cares about that?  :-* Thank you.

Edit: And I was able to post this with Firefox. No idea if this is due to the same change or something else you did, but I can use my prefered Browser again!
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: cat on 12 Dec 2018, 19:35
It worked! I set my theme to AGS Compact as well and I can post with Firefox.
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: AGA on 12 Dec 2018, 20:30
Okay, I give up.  I've compared every file in the AGS and AGSCompact themes, and they're identical except for a few lines of CSS.  I've tried replacing the whole AGS theme folder with a copy of the AGSCompact folder (so zero differences), but the editor issue still appears.  As a workaround I've reset everyone's theme to AGSCompact, so at least no one will experience this anymore...
If someone wants to try to debug the issue, I'm happy to give them access to the AGS theme again.  If you have the AGS theme set, there is a JS error in the console, which then disappears if you change theme to AGSCompact (even when the files are identical...).
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: Stupot on 13 Dec 2018, 12:15
test


Okay. I’m in. I couldn’t post yesterday.


I’m liking the new style buttons. They’re pretty buggy at the moment but once it’s all ironed out it’ll make it must quicker to do from my phone rather than keep farting about with square brackets.


Cheers AGA
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: tzachs on 13 Dec 2018, 15:19
I'm getting the same "Cannot read property 'pasteHTML' of null" when clicking on the "quote" button from chrome.
I debugged it a little bit. getRange in forums/themes/default/scripts/editor.js (line 916) returns null.
getRange calls getSelect, and the oSelection object is returned empty (i.e rangeCount == 0) which is why it returns null.
In getSelect itself both bWantText and bWantHTMLText are undefined, so it goes to line 898 ("this.oFrameWindow.getSelection") which returns the empty selection.

At this point, I thought, I didn't select any text, I just clicked the quote button, why should it call getSelection at all?
Unless maybe there's another piece of code that is supposed to select the text before calling this and the problem is that it didn't?

So I tried again, only this time I selected some text before clicking the quote button, but it didn't seem to help, getSelection still returns an empty selection.
I also tried this.oFrameDocument.getSelection (instead of oFrameWindow) but it also returns an empty selection even when text is selected, so not sure what to think.
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: Crimson Wizard on 14 Dec 2018, 00:20
AGA, could you please tell what happened to the issue tracker? will it be back, and if not is there any way to access its data?
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: Khris on 14 Dec 2018, 12:07
The very first thing people should do is clear the entire cache for adventuregamestudio.co.uk
This should solve some of the issues.
Quoting works fine for me.

Edit: sorry, no, it doesn't on Chrome.

Edit2: Here's a tampermonkey script (https://www.dropbox.com/s/wgsqsae5xe1533t/AGS_Forum_Quote_Fix_for_Chrome.user.js?dl=0) that will fix the quote button.(not the "insert quote" button on the reply page though)
Title: Re: Someone’s having trouble registering.
Post by: AGA on 14 Dec 2018, 16:35
I'm happy to apply it on the server, if you can give me a patched version of the relevant js file.