Adventure Game Studio | Forums

AGS Development => Editor Development => Topic started by: Snarky on 01 Sep 2018, 10:16

Title: Default game setting: When player interface is disabled, GUIs should...
Post by: Snarky on 01 Sep 2018, 10:16
Just the latest example of this setting confusing newbies: http://www.adventuregamestudio.co.uk/forums/index.php?topic=56426

Would it be possible to change the default value of the setting to "Display normally"?
Title: Re: Default game setting: When player interface is disabled, GUIs should...
Post by: morganw on 01 Sep 2018, 10:38
The problem is, a lot of the previous scripts were relying on the blocking behaviour of the GUI to operate.

Newer templates are here:
https://github.com/adventuregamestudio/ags-template-source (https://github.com/adventuregamestudio/ags-template-source)

I think it is addressed in, at least some of them.
Title: Re: Default game setting: When player interface is disabled, GUIs should...
Post by: Crimson Wizard on 01 Sep 2018, 16:42
The problem is, a lot of the previous scripts were relying on the blocking behaviour of the GUI to operate.

I guess the point here is to ensure default value in the editor (and templates), no need to change the internal value of constant.
Title: Re: Default game setting: When player interface is disabled, GUIs should...
Post by: morganw on 03 Sep 2018, 23:09
Ah right, it probably does end up being dependent on the template, and possible whether your buttons are square, as to which setting would be best. I guess this setting would make a lot more sense being per GUI or per GUIControl, rather than setting it globally. You could also argue the opposite, that it if defaulted to not greying out the controls, beginners wouldn't know there was an option to grey out the controls.

A possibly related issue, I imagine the original design of the settings panel was meant to be highlighting the choice in a bold font where the chosen value was not the default, and use a regular font when the chosen setting was the default. At the moment I think what have become the defaults are sometime highlighted in bold, so it does look a little strange (like settings have already been modified).