Adventure Game Studio

AGS Development => Editor Development => Topic started by: Monsieur OUXX on Wed 10/02/2021 09:07:02

Title: DynamicSprite functions have no autocomplete in Room script
Post by: Monsieur OUXX on Wed 10/02/2021 09:07:02
That's something that has been bugging me for many versions of the Editor :

1) Go to your global script
2) Write this :
Code (ags) Select

DynamicSprite* s = DynamicSprite.Create(1,1);
DrawingSurface* ds = s.GetDrawingSurface

3)
- What you observe (good) : the word "GetDrawingSurface" to be suggested as autocomplete when you start typing it

4) Now, repeat the exact same steps in a ROOM script :
- What you expect (good) : the word "GetDrawingSurface" to be suggested as autocomplete when you start typing it
- What you observe (bad) : the word "GetDrawingSurface" is not suggested

If I'm not mistaken, none of the DynamicSprite functions get their autocomplete in Room scripts


I'm using the latest version (I think it's 3.5.0.24 or something).
This issue has existed probably since 3.4.x

Title: Re: DynamicSprite functions have no autocomplete in Room script
Post by: eri0o on Wed 10/02/2021 09:32:49
Haven't checked... But, you need at least 3 characters before autocomplete kicks in on its own. Otherwise, Ctrl+Space invokes autocomplete.
Title: Re: DynamicSprite functions have no autocomplete in Room script
Post by: Crimson Wizard on Wed 10/02/2021 19:37:04
Room scripts are weird (https://github.com/adventuregamestudio/ags/issues/187).

Anyway, I think this should be posted in the github issue tracker if it's actually reproducible.
Title: Re: DynamicSprite functions have no autocomplete in Room script
Post by: Monsieur OUXX on Mon 15/02/2021 09:46:44
Quote from: eri0o on Wed 10/02/2021 09:32:49
Haven't checked... But, you need at least 3 characters before autocomplete kicks in on its own. Otherwise, Ctrl+Space invokes autocomplete.

You should check, you will see that this case is quite unique.