Criticism wanted for sprites & cursors (UPDATED)

Started by x_traveler_x, Mon 21/02/2005 00:56:33

Previous topic - Next topic

x_traveler_x

Hey, good people!

Now that I've hammered most of the rough edges out of my game's interface, I'm finally able to move on to the fun stuff-- CONTENT!

My game will follow the classic Sierra-type interface.  I've always prefered that interface, and since it's my first project, it should be easy to work with.

First, here's a sample of a character sprite.  He isn't really a main character, but will serve as the basis of how the rest of my characters will be drawn (haven't drawn a female yet):

Next, a couple samples of mouse cursors.  Note the "arrow" shape on each, which virtually eliminates pixel-hunting (as seen in SQ6):

Finally, here is a possible tune which will be played when my logo shows:

( http://fallingpeople.constructivechaos.net/FANFARE1.mid )

Well, there you have it for now... fire away!
~~- - -. . .finding a cure for mundanity. . . - - -~~

Vince Twelve

Some great stuff here.  Especially those cursors.  I hate it when a cursor is a hand or a walking man and have the cursor's hotspot is the hand's ring finger or the man's left leg.  You never know what you're pointing at.  I'm building cursors like this for my game as well, but they have no where near the sense of style that yours have.  I hope that style is mirrored in the rest of your GUIs as well.  Consistency in presentation, and all that...

I would consider making the third arrow (I'm assuming it's the default cursor) match the others by having the rounded end.  You can either leave the black circle empty, or fill it in with blue to match the rest of the arrow.  Just a suggestion.  You might like how it looks now better.