story idea... scriptwriters interested?

Started by esper, Sat 10/09/2005 07:55:14

Previous topic - Next topic

esper

Hey.
  I noticed not everything in here was VISUAL art... There is some music, and the guy with the Maniac Mansion script, and a few people with game ideas. As anyone who played my game The Town on the Edge of Darkness knows, it's based on a short story I wrote of the same name (it comes packaged with later editions of the game file). That is, in turn, based on a novel I wrote about the ESPER society (Extraordinary Supernatural Phenomena Explored and Revealed). I have tried to get the book published. I AM a published author (if you don't believe me, go to Amazon.com and look up either Callan Souza or The Days of Old...), but for some reason publishers don't want ESPER, even though they accepted my lame fantasy story. NO ONE ELSE seems to want ESPER, either, which is a bummer since, IMHO, it is a hundred times better than my already published work, and would be much better received, especially since it is supernatural in nature and alot of todays' media entertainment is supernatural, paranormal, or occultic in nature (ie. the Ring, the Grudge, the Exorcist prequel, the Exorcism of Emily Rose, Dark Water, the Skeleton Key, Darkness... more horror movies are being made today than ever before, and they're SMART horror, not hack 'n' slashers like in the days of yore)...
   I think some of the major downfalls of the ESPER story are that it is written in first person perspective (I have actually come upon publishers and agents that would not accept any work if it were first person), and that it is action and visually oriented, which is difficult in a book. It is almost completely impossible to show someone being afflicted in such ways as hearing voices and seeing strange phenomena without it being in first person or having compelling audio and visuals to go along with it.