What do YOU use to create music for adventure games?

Started by Mugs, Wed 14/12/2005 04:30:29

Previous topic - Next topic

Gregjazz

Erenan

Me three! Fast Tracker II was great. Well, it would have been much better if I had had any sense at all about finding decent samples. I still had fun though. :P

Nowadays I just use Sibelius 3, Audacity, and sometimes FamiTracker. That's mostly because I have no money, and I'm extremely stubborn when it comes to learning how to use things I've never used before, such as free soundfonts and getting a job and etc.
The Bunker

RocketGirl

You know, Anvil looks like it actually has the kind of interface I've been looking for for a long while. The only difference is that I've been looking for that style of interface for a MOD/S3M tracker.

I'm probably putting a date on my age here, but back in the DOS days I used to play around with MODEdit 3.0. It was the only tracker that had an interface that graphically displayed the notes on a scale rather than displaying the notes in a text representation (note+octave, like "C#3"). Most trackers consider it more important to display time and all the various channels at once rather than display the notes in scale and time with the inactive (in the editor) channels greyed out behind the active channel.

I always found that deeply counter-intuitive. Knowing what note you're playing and when always seemed much more important to me than knowing which channels were playing what when; timing always seemed to tend to itself.

I'm gonna DL Anvil because I miss playing with music and I might just find it useful when I start making my game. But if anyone knows of a digital sampler/tracker that has a similar interface and can tell me how to get a copy, well, you can have my first born male child.
May the Force be with you

gameboy

I use FL studio too! It rules! It's the best thing I know for creating music (since electric guitar)! (That's the only one that I can use)

Mugs