"Arcane" Board game sprites for C&C

Started by , Mon 07/07/2008 21:17:02

Previous topic - Next topic

Ghost

I'm currently toying around with a board game, and I want to capture that look-and-feel of recent games like the WoW/Doom/Settlers boardgames, where you play with plastic miniatures of some detail.

So, without much ado, here's the set of pieces- each player will have a Warrior, Sorceress, Archer, Rogue, Priest and Barbarian at their disposal, and I tried to create them as cast miniatures. Unfortunately, I have little experience with that "metallic" style.

Here's a screenshot too, to show the minatures in their "natural environment".

Any suggestions, feedback and paintovers are extremely welcome!

edit: added description of game mechanics
I'd like to explain that concept a bit because it's easy to crit too, and maybe we can make that a joint effort.

Arcane
"Duells between Wizards are commonplace, be it for land, knowledge, power or sheer
boredom. These days, Wizard Duels take place in the Combat Grounds, a magical landscape
where Wizards pit their champions against each other."

Goal of the game:
To either conquer or destroy the opponent's Tower Of Wizardry.

Gameplay:
Each game starts with an empty Combat Ground and both players owning a tower placed in their Stronghold. Initially these towers have 20 "hitpoints". Players can add mines, pylons and quarries to the Stronghold to gain gold, mana and stone.

In each turn, players can put down a land tile in the Combat Grounds. Land can be placed only on tiles adjacent to the player's tower or land he already controls. The amount of land boosts the amount of resources a player gains each turn.