Walkcyle test

Started by -=Lisa=-, Tue 06/04/2010 13:36:53

Previous topic - Next topic

-=Lisa=-

I'm kinda new to this whole thing but it wold be nice to get some comments
(i know he lacks feet... didn't notice until after i uploaded it that i forgot one layer)

btw what is a good size character if im to make a 640x480 game? this one here is 245px in height and i thought that felt pretty good
although he is kinda big for my backgrounds sometimes
/Lisa

Danman

Great Animation. Just a few character art issues I don't like such as pointy nose and hands.

Only thing I kinda think about the animation is the 3rd frame looks more like his right arm is going back. Not forward.  I have never been good at animating but that is what I see.

Also for the character size depends on the backgrounds. Also if you use walkable area scaling. And when I say the backgrounds I mean perspective wise.

There is my criticism (coming from me who cant even do a walk-cycle.)   ;D

Chicky

Looks like it will run fairly smoothly. You might want to make him bob less, the second frame looks like he is ducking under something.

Pixelton

Really nice style there Lisa and I think it will animate great, I've not tried it in FLash mind but all the essential key frames of a walk cycle look correct.

I do think the head motion is alittle too extreme, usually I try and keep the eye level at the same height throughout the walkcycle and only drop the head and shoulders at two points (when the legs are at their most extreme points)...but to be fair..my character work is alot more low-res than your lovely artwork.

This is a dodgy Star Trek character sprite I've drawn up for an idea I had, I'm not sure if its that fitting for your walk-cycle as its much higher-res and detailed but looking at alot of reference out there...monkey island...Space Quest; they all do it the same. I'm not sure if it helps...I'm more of a 3D animator than a 2D one.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ByU8a-fhbis