Suggestion for Improvement: New default walkable area ID

Started by Milhouse, Fri 28/12/2012 02:27:59

Previous topic - Next topic

Milhouse

Hello guys,

For the last two days I've been playing with AGS and especially one issue has cost me a lot of time: I wasn't able to draw walkable areas.
Ok, now after hours it's clear to me how to use that feature...

1. My experience
I was told by a tooltip that "You are currently using the eraser. To draw new areas, change the selection in the list above the Properties Pane." Well, in all other tools I know you have to click an eraser icon or select that command from a menu in order to enter such an mode. I hadn't done that. Also I wasn't able to locate the walkable area ID selection list ???. This was probably due to the huge width of that control. I just wasn't able to identify it as a list control. Ok, maybe I'm stupid... :-[ But let me tell you that I've been a software engineer for seven years. And developing .NET user dialogs has been one of my tasks. The help or FAQ don't mention that problem. Finally, I was able to solve that issue by using the search feature of this forum: A post with a screenshot how to change the walkable area ID to something else than 0.

2. Why you have that problem following a tutorial
I was watching the youtube tutorial by densming. So I started a new project with the default game and switched the background. I was notified that the new background had a different size and everything including the walkable areas would be deleted. Ok, the first time I didn't read that message box, but that wasn't the problem. The problem is: After deleting the background image of the only existing room and deleting the walkable areas due to the new background size, the walkable area ID is set to 0 and remains zero unless set to something else manually.

3. Two suggestions to remedy that problem.