Jibble

Author Topic: [TEST] Custom Resolution build (based on 3.3.0 / 3.3.1)  (Read 50073 times)

Re: [TEST] Custom Resolution build (based on 3.3.0)
« Reply #160 on: 28 May 2014, 00:36 »
Thanks so much for this addon Crimson Wizard. I used for about 2 months now, and it's stable. No single crach or any problem using it. 1080p graphics rocks! :-D
Lancelot's Hangover : A whole life to find the Holy Grail. One alcohol night to lose it.

Play free beta // Video trailer // Website

Re: [TEST] Custom Resolution build (based on 3.3.0)
« Reply #161 on: 28 May 2014, 00:46 »
One observation though: to make my game's trailer, I've video captured the game with Camatasia while I was playing it. Full-screen capture leads to a black video, although windowed capture worked perfectly. Do you think is it because of the Custom Resolution Build or would it happen also with the canonical 3.3.0? Or maybe the problem came from Camatasia and my PC?
Lancelot's Hangover : A whole life to find the Holy Grail. One alcohol night to lose it.

Play free beta // Video trailer // Website

Crimson Wizard

  • Local Moderator
    • Lifetime Achievement Award Winner
    • Best Innovation Award Winner 2013, for spearheading the AGS 3.3.0 project
    • Crimson Wizard worked on one or more games that won an AGS Award!
    •  
    • Crimson Wizard worked on one or more games that was nominated for an AGS Award!
Re: [TEST] Custom Resolution build (based on 3.3.0)
« Reply #162 on: 22 Jun 2014, 22:20 »
Merged custom resolutions build with 3.3.0 update1 (of 1st May 2014):
http://www.mediafire.com/download/a1j4yu57gi46w2r/CustomRes_3_3_0_update1.7z
Also updated links in the first post.

I'll try to make a version merged with early-3.3.1 in following days (I don't think there will be any problems).


One observation though: to make my game's trailer, I've video captured the game with Camatasia while I was playing it. Full-screen capture leads to a black video, although windowed capture worked perfectly. Do you think is it because of the Custom Resolution Build or would it happen also with the canonical 3.3.0? Or maybe the problem came from Camatasia and my PC?
I have no idea, sorry.
« Last Edit: 22 Jun 2014, 22:23 by Crimson Wizard »

Calin Leafshade

  • Long live King Cat!
    • I can help with making music
    • I can help with voice acting
    • Calin Leafshade worked on one or more games that won an AGS Award!
    •  
    • Calin Leafshade worked on one or more games that was nominated for an AGS Award!
Re: [TEST] Custom Resolution build (based on 3.3.0)
« Reply #163 on: 22 Jun 2014, 23:05 »
When will this be merged with master so the ports can take advantage of it?

Crimson Wizard

  • Local Moderator
    • Lifetime Achievement Award Winner
    • Best Innovation Award Winner 2013, for spearheading the AGS 3.3.0 project
    • Crimson Wizard worked on one or more games that won an AGS Award!
    •  
    • Crimson Wizard worked on one or more games that was nominated for an AGS Award!
Re: [TEST] Custom Resolution build (based on 3.3.0)
« Reply #164 on: 22 Jun 2014, 23:36 »
When will this be merged with master so the ports can take advantage of it?
This is already merged with master (technically), just not in the "official" repository:
https://github.com/ivan-mogilko/ags-refactoring/tree/dirty_custom_resolutions

Regarding "official" version, some time ago I decided to rewrite the code to make things bit cleaner and slightly different way; I am in the process of doing so.
Also, mobile ports require updating OpenGL renderer, which is still incomplete. (OTOH, they may still work if no scaling filter used)

« Last Edit: 22 Jun 2014, 23:38 by Crimson Wizard »

Re: [TEST] Custom Resolution build (based on 3.3.0)
« Reply #165 on: 23 Jun 2014, 16:07 »
Thanks a lot CW.This version is a big revolution in AGS.
My official site: http://www.pershaland.ir/

Crimson Wizard

  • Local Moderator
    • Lifetime Achievement Award Winner
    • Best Innovation Award Winner 2013, for spearheading the AGS 3.3.0 project
    • Crimson Wizard worked on one or more games that won an AGS Award!
    •  
    • Crimson Wizard worked on one or more games that was nominated for an AGS Award!
Re: [TEST] Custom Resolution build (based on 3.3.0 / 3.3.1)
« Reply #166 on: 28 Jun 2014, 17:50 »
Preliminary version based on 3.3.1 alpha.
Warning: 3.3.1 contains new features and had not yet underwent much public testing.
Includes Vertical Sync option for D3D9 driver in winsetup.

http://www.mediafire.com/download/i7bfqk5196azqhb/CustomRes_3_3_1_alpha1.7z
No-MP3 version of the engine:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/cac7brkaxz4f8dq/CustomRes_3_3_1_alpha1_nomp3.7z
The complete source code contained in my personal branch here:
https://github.com/ivan-mogilko/ags-refactoring/tree/dirty_custom_resolutions_331

(Links also added to the first post).

Problem

  • Cavefish
    • I can help with animation
    • I can help with characters
    • I can help with making music
    • I can help with play testing
    • I can help with scripting
    • I can help with translating
    • Problem worked on one or more games that won an AGS Award!
    •  
    • Problem worked on one or more games that was nominated for an AGS Award!
Re: [TEST] Custom Resolution build (based on 3.3.0 / 3.3.1)
« Reply #167 on: 29 Jun 2014, 21:00 »
Thanks, Crimson Wizard! I just gave it a go, and so far everything seems to work. :)

Knox

  • Storm Behind The Badge
Re: [TEST] Custom Resolution build (based on 3.3.0 / 3.3.1)
« Reply #168 on: 30 Jun 2014, 01:01 »
One observation though: to make my game's trailer, I've video captured the game with Camatasia while I was playing it. Full-screen capture leads to a black video, although windowed capture worked perfectly. Do you think is it because of the Custom Resolution Build or would it happen also with the canonical 3.3.0? Or maybe the problem came from Camatasia and my PC?

I have the same problem currently as well. Windowed mode the video plays fine, but in fullscreen the screen remains black. My game is 1600x900, the video is 1024x768 wmv.
--All that is necessary for evil to triumph is for good men to do nothing.

Re: [TEST] Custom Resolution build (based on 3.3.0 / 3.3.1)
« Reply #169 on: 30 Jun 2014, 13:07 »
I don't think it's an issue with AGS. As far as I know, Camtasia was never meant to record games, so it won't record them unless you use the mentioned workaround of Windowed mode.

There's dedicated software to record games, such as Fraps, Bandicam, and dxtory. These should all work fine in full screen.

Re: [TEST] Custom Resolution build (based on 3.3.0 / 3.3.1)
« Reply #170 on: 27 Jul 2014, 03:32 »
I downloaded the '3.3.0 Update 1' build but I'm struggling to completely understand it. I've read this whole thread but to no avail. Am I correct in thinking that this build does not increase the native game resolution options located in General Settings?


So you can now set your window to HD resolutions in winsetup, but the game itself is still limited to a max of 1024x768? Sorry for the noob question, but I've been trying all sorts -- importing 720p backgrounds, messing around with winsetup and getting all kinds of weird results / crashes.

Thanks a lot.

Crimson Wizard

  • Local Moderator
    • Lifetime Achievement Award Winner
    • Best Innovation Award Winner 2013, for spearheading the AGS 3.3.0 project
    • Crimson Wizard worked on one or more games that won an AGS Award!
    •  
    • Crimson Wizard worked on one or more games that was nominated for an AGS Award!
Re: [TEST] Custom Resolution build (based on 3.3.0 / 3.3.1)
« Reply #171 on: 27 Jul 2014, 12:29 »
I downloaded the '3.3.0 Update 1' build but I'm struggling to completely understand it. I've read this whole thread but to no avail. Am I correct in thinking that this build does not increase the native game resolution options located in General Settings?
"Custom Resolutions" and "3.3.0 Update 1" builds are not the same. "Custom resolutions" version allows to select any native resolution. That's why they are distributed separately. You can download CR using links in the first post of this very thread.
Currently there are two alternatives: a CR version based on "3.3.0 update 1" and CR version based on "3.3.1 alpha".

Sorry for the noob question, but I've been trying all sorts -- importing 720p backgrounds, messing around with winsetup and getting all kinds of weird results / crashes.
If you have any crashes, please report them, there might be a bug.

Re: [TEST] Custom Resolution build (based on 3.3.0 / 3.3.1)
« Reply #172 on: 28 Jul 2014, 11:24 »
Thanks CW, now I understand :) I got 720p working straight away, but I'm getting some very strange behaviour when I open winsetup. The window closes by itself after about 10 seconds, then reopens, sometimes a couple of times, then I get the error "This program might not have installed correctly. If this program didn't install correctly, try reinstalling using settings that are compatible with this version of Windows". I'm using Windows 7. I've never had this problem before with AGS, although I have just installed a new anti-virus program, Avast. I might have to disable it and see if that makes a difference because it has been causing some other problems.

Crimson Wizard

  • Local Moderator
    • Lifetime Achievement Award Winner
    • Best Innovation Award Winner 2013, for spearheading the AGS 3.3.0 project
    • Crimson Wizard worked on one or more games that won an AGS Award!
    •  
    • Crimson Wizard worked on one or more games that was nominated for an AGS Award!
Re: [TEST] Custom Resolution build (based on 3.3.0 / 3.3.1)
« Reply #173 on: 28 Jul 2014, 12:27 »
I'm getting some very strange behaviour when I open winsetup. The window closes by itself after about 10 seconds, then reopens, sometimes a couple of times, then I get the error "This program might not have installed correctly. If this program didn't install correctly, try reinstalling using settings that are compatible with this version of Windows".
I am getting those messages for every AGS game I download in zip file (without installer)... answering "It's installed correctly" solves this.
I think this is simply a part of Windows protection against potentially dangerous downloads.

Gurok

  • Rottwheelers
  • When life hands you lemons, combine them with the mop
    • I can help with AGS tutoring
    • I can help with proof reading
    • I can help with scripting
    • Best Innovation Award Winner 2016, for improving and extending the AGS scripting language
    • Gurok worked on one or more games that won an AGS Award!
    •  
    • Gurok worked on one or more games that was nominated for an AGS Award!
Re: [TEST] Custom Resolution build (based on 3.3.0 / 3.3.1)
« Reply #174 on: 28 Jul 2014, 12:39 »
It's the Program Compatibility Assistant. It's possible to turn it off (http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/70829-program-compatibility-assistant-enable-disable.html), but the real question is why AGS games are being detected as installers.

DoorKnobHandle

  • Mittens Serf
    • DoorKnobHandle worked on one or more games that won an AGS Award!
    •  
    • DoorKnobHandle worked on one or more games that was nominated for an AGS Award!
Re: [TEST] Custom Resolution build (based on 3.3.0 / 3.3.1)
« Reply #175 on: 28 Jul 2014, 14:00 »
It's not the games for me usually, it's winsetup.exe so my guess is because it has the word setup in the name?

Crimson Wizard

  • Local Moderator
    • Lifetime Achievement Award Winner
    • Best Innovation Award Winner 2013, for spearheading the AGS 3.3.0 project
    • Crimson Wizard worked on one or more games that won an AGS Award!
    •  
    • Crimson Wizard worked on one or more games that was nominated for an AGS Award!
Re: [TEST] Custom Resolution build (based on 3.3.0 / 3.3.1)
« Reply #176 on: 28 Jul 2014, 14:16 »
It's not the games for me usually, it's winsetup.exe so my guess is because it has the word setup in the name?
Yes :)
I took a random program and renamed executable to "setup.exe". Upon exiting, Windows displayed the message :).

I wonder, if Windows expects particular return value or something?

Radiant

  • Mittens Knight
  • AGS Baker
  • Return once more to the Two Kingdoms!
    • I can help with story design
    • I can help with publishing
    • Radiant worked on one or more games that won an AGS Award!
    •  
    • Radiant worked on one or more games that was nominated for an AGS Award!
Re: [TEST] Custom Resolution build (based on 3.3.0 / 3.3.1)
« Reply #177 on: 28 Jul 2014, 16:54 »
It's not the games for me usually, it's winsetup.exe so my guess is because it has the word setup in the name?

Seriously?

Come on microsoft, that is completely silly.

Knox

  • Storm Behind The Badge
Re: [TEST] Custom Resolution build (based on 3.3.0 / 3.3.1)
« Reply #178 on: 07 Aug 2014, 17:23 »
I'm not sure if this was mentioned before, but is it a normal editor behavior when an error happens while testing the game and the call stack pops up but closes the output window? It seems then that informative error messages don't get displayed at all making it hard to know what went wrong other than getting the line that causes the error (via the stack window).
--All that is necessary for evil to triumph is for good men to do nothing.

Crimson Wizard

  • Local Moderator
    • Lifetime Achievement Award Winner
    • Best Innovation Award Winner 2013, for spearheading the AGS 3.3.0 project
    • Crimson Wizard worked on one or more games that won an AGS Award!
    •  
    • Crimson Wizard worked on one or more games that was nominated for an AGS Award!
Re: [TEST] Custom Resolution build (based on 3.3.0 / 3.3.1)
« Reply #179 on: 07 Aug 2014, 18:29 »
I'm not sure if this was mentioned before, but is it a normal editor behavior when an error happens while testing the game and the call stack pops up but closes the output window? It seems then that informative error messages don't get displayed at all making it hard to know what went wrong other than getting the line that causes the error (via the stack window).
Hmm, can it be that the stack window simply overlays message window? When this happens try unpinning the Stack window and moving it around. Also, check "Window" menu and try turning "Output" on & off.