Understanding slowdowns on Android.

Started by monkey0506, Tue 01/10/2013 00:19:44

Previous topic - Next topic

monkey0506

Hey, as some of you have noticed, I'm working on the whole "publishing" issue for AGS games on Android, and I've hit somewhat of a snag in that the engine seems to run quite slowly in graphic-intensive games. Even on higher end devices which have very successfully published 3D games available, the engine is slowing to a crawl. I'm not really sure where to look, so what would be the best way of finding the root causes? I know the engine isn't highly optimized ATM, but I'm looking to see what could be done to just make these games run a bit smoother.

Any leads would be appreciated. Also, I'm quite new to Java, Eclipse, and Android development in general, so feel free to "dumb it down" a bit if you're referencing anything specific to those areas. I imagine the biggest issue will lay in the native C++ code, but again, I'm not really sure how to go about determining that.

Thanks!

Crimson Wizard

JJS should know better about this, but I think OpenGL graphics driver should be enabled for Android port. Are you running games with Software renderer or OpenGL?

monkey0506

It seems silly now, but I'll have to make sure I was using OpenGL. I'd sort of overlooked that the "PreferencesActivity" was being utilized by the launcher app, not the engine library, and subsequently forgotten about "android.cfg". 8-) Which actually brings up other issues, but that's another story entirely!

Aside from the renderer, any other thoughts? I tried to email JJS but he hasn't gotten back to me.

Ryan Timothy B

Quote from: monkey_05_06 on Tue 01/10/2013 00:19:44Even on higher end devices which have very successfully published 3D games available, the engine is slowing to a crawl.
Are the games experiencing slowdown full 3D games or a series of hires animated sprites (like AGS)?